No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
adamstrange
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 8:46 am

No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by adamstrange »

I have an old Dell R450 PC and I installed ReactOS on it but the keyboard and mouse don't work at all.

Although there where no problems with the install,when I got to the desktop I received 2 errors,one error was about input device and the other was about multimedia drivers.

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by vicmarcal »

USB mouse and USB keyboard?
Or PS2?


I´m asking becaus USB isnt supported :(

3100484702
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 12:34 am

Re: No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by 3100484702 »

Currently with version 0.3.7 of ROS (ReactOS), USB Devices are not compatible. you must use a Serial/PS2 keyboard and mouse. According to ROS Roadmap, USB support for ROS is comming soon, in the mean time, we're stuck with PS2. I recommend a Microsoft Serial Mouse Port Compatible 2.0 mouse, but, you're on your own with the keyboard, most PS2 devices. (And PS2 is a type of plug, not Play Station 2)

mnm1969
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by mnm1969 »

With ReactOS 0.37 LiveCD ...
I tried a Acer PS/2 and a microsoft Serial mouse and nothing work. :(

My testing PC is a IBM 8183. (and a Toshiba 1900 satellite)
All my mouses working OK on Win'XP.

******************************************
Sorry for my bad english.
Have a good day !
mnm1969

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by vicmarcal »

Try to download a more recent Build.Since 0.3.7 is 3000 bugs away from now.We are almost near from 0.3.8.
Download the ISO from here:
http://www.reactos.org/getbuilds/

mnm1969
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by mnm1969 »

I tried the "livecd-39025-rel.iso" (what version ?? 0.39 ??)
and it's the same bug.
No keyboard (ps/2) and no mouse (ps/2 and serial). :(

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by vicmarcal »

Is that Acer a Laptop?
Could you give us the specs of it?
Sometimes Laptops takes an USB slot and convert to PS/2 output. Driver is really an USB and not a PS/2 one.We dont support USB so something as this conversion doesnt work.Could be this the answer?

mnm1969
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by mnm1969 »

It's a IBM 8183
http://static.tigerdirect.ca/pdf/IBM-Th ... rGuide.pdf
[ external image ]

The mouse is a very old PS/2 and a very very old Microsoft Serial Mouse 2.0A
[ external image ]

And my keyboard is a very old IBM KB-7953
[ external image ]

Thanks for your help.
I want try this O/S. :)

ps: Is it a problem if my USB kb and mouse stay plug in ??
Can this cause problems?

mnm1969
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by mnm1969 »

ACER is my old PS/2 mouse. (no LED, it's a ball)

No adapter !!
Real PS/2 and Serial mouse.

mnm1969
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by mnm1969 »

I tried ReactOS on my other PC*.
The PS/2 mouse and keyboard work OK.
Even the USB mouse on my KVM switch ! :)

The display is not smooth.
The mouse is very slow.
But it's work. :)


*
MoBo: ECS K8T890-A
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3800+
video: Radeon X600

zerotsm
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:30 am

Re: No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by zerotsm »

I'm having the same issue with my serial mouse. Keyboard is OK. Mouse worked properly when XP Pro SP3 was installed on this machine. The mouse also worked during initial setup, until the system got to the "Registering Components" window and died at that point. Using the keyboard short cuts to navigate to Settings, Settings Menu, Mouse, Hardware gives a report "this device is operating normally". In Device Manager I was able to navigate to COM1, but could not open that icon to view any details. No, the mouse did not have a hardware failure, I powered down the machine and did a fresh install and the symptoms were the same: Mouse worked until the end of setup.


React OS 0.3.8
MB Asus P2-99B
CPU Pentium III

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: No Keyboard or Mouse ?

Post by vicmarcal »

Could you make a Debug Log in those Real Hardware?That will help to understand what is happening with your mouses,we didnt have any kind of problems with mouses until now...it´s weird.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Semrush [Bot] and 0 guests