network not working,help me!

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
g_cmin
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 7:46 am

network not working,help me!

Post by g_cmin »

Who can tell me how to config reactos network in Qemu?
The hostos is windows xp.
Thanks.

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: network not working,help me!

Post by Gasmann »

g_cmin wrote:The hostos is windows xp.
It doesn't seem to be working in qemu for windows.
I think it's because qemu for windows is still alpha.
Read here.

User avatar
Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Networking is working in QEMU for Windows

Post by Jaix »

Hello, it's pretty simple to get the network going in Qemu too, but the "user-mode" networking only allows for outgoing requests, not for incoming, there is another one though it's called "tap-device" I havn't been able to get that one to work yet but it is supposed to.

The only thing I have to do when I have installed ROS-QEMU for windows is change the ip for the NE20001-Parameters-Tcpip:
DefaultGateway: 10.0.2.2
IPAddress: 10.0.2.15
and Tcpip-Parameters:
NameServer: To your local or WAN DNS-server

The ip number 10.0.2.2 is usually not in my network, I have 192.168.30.254 as Gateway, but the usermode networking giver these numbers, just to accept. If it doesn't work, install win98 on a new image and configure it to recieve ip from dhcp and check that this is working, then use the same in ROS, that works.

I will update the Wiki with some pictures...
...Here.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Semrush [Bot] and 2 guests