Adding virtualbox to the Emulators section on the download

Suggestions and comments about the ReactOS website

Moderator: Moderator Team

joako2
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:48 am

Adding virtualbox to the Emulators section on the download

Post by joako2 » Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:54 am

Hi folks!

I would like to suggest adding virtualbox to the Emulators section on the download page.
http://www.reactos.org/en/download.html

VirtualBox is an open source virtualization package. It's very user friendly and has a lot of features. Works on win32 and linux.
http://www.virtualbox.org/

Sincerely,
Joaquín.

stampoon
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:24 pm

Post by stampoon » Sun Mar 30, 2008 1:16 pm

+1
it's needed =)

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Sun Mar 30, 2008 3:49 pm

I say no thanks to VitualBox I do not want my file being overwriten by vitualbox again. it already sabotagase my windows one time.

joako2
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:48 am

Which File?

Post by joako2 » Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:26 pm

Hi again!

I don't understand which file you are talking about. This problem could be reported to the VirtualBox mailing list.

Sincerely,
Joaquín

Ged
Developer
Posts: 925
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: UK

Post by Ged » Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:38 pm

We don't use VirtualBox for development, therefore we don't recommend it.
It would be silly to support a virtual machine which we don't recommend.

LRN
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 4:19 pm

Post by LRN » Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:40 pm

Maybe he meant that VirtualBox patches executables (so they run under VBox).

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos » Sun Mar 30, 2008 8:32 pm

We still should add Vbox to bugzilla`s Platform list.

joako2
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:48 am

VirtualBox is open source

Post by joako2 » Mon Mar 31, 2008 5:53 am

Maybe VirtualBox is not supported right now. But i think it would be a great idea since it is open source as ReactOS. Maybe the team could gradually begin to use it?

Cheers!
Joaquín

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos » Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:29 am

Its not as stable as QEMU but can run ROS just fine.

DGMurdockIII
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 8:30 pm

Re: Adding virtualbox to the Emulators section on the download

Post by DGMurdockIII » Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:09 am

VB is way better now that sun is supporting it

Radhad
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding virtualbox to the Emulators section on the download

Post by Radhad » Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:10 am

Then help testing ROS on VirtualBox - only if there are enough testers it is possible to support it!

cuttysark
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 2:20 pm

Re: Adding virtualbox to the Emulators section on the download

Post by cuttysark » Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:18 am

I only use Virtualbox... I'm able to perform debugs and diffrent trunk builds installlations in just 5 minutes, including the file download! With the virtual Iso's drive I can install ( or try to) every software I want in ROS.

Radhad
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding virtualbox to the Emulators section on the download

Post by Radhad » Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:48 pm

I know that :) Just join #reactos and #reactos-testers and just ask how you can help with debugging :)

47_MasoN_47
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:04 pm

Re: Adding virtualbox to the Emulators section on the download

Post by 47_MasoN_47 » Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:35 pm

Hey I've been using ROS for a while but haven't spent much time on the forums. I agree that this is needed though. I run ROS through VirtualBox on both Windows and Linux platforms and it appears to work well.

coldReactive
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: Adding virtualbox to the Emulators section on the download

Post by coldReactive » Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:24 am

Though, QEMU always gives me a "QEMU has closed unexpectedly" in Ubuntu 8.10 every once in a while, but it doesn't close =/

That's what I get for installing it via Qemulator.

Edit: Seems I have to run it as admin, and even if I do, I can't figure out how to start an ISO. I feel VirtualBOX is easier due to it having a better gui system.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests