0.3.1 Released

ReactOS related news

Moderator: Moderator Team

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

0.3.1 Released

Post by Z98 »

After a long series of delays, 0.3.1 has been released. The various images are all located here.

http://www.reactos.org/en/download.html

GreyGhost
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:16 pm

Post by GreyGhost »

Testing time everyone !!!!
Regards GreyGhost

ROSFan
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:09 pm
Location: Germany

Post by ROSFan »

congratulations developers!
Thanks for the great work!

My "tests":
vmware image:
-Firefox 1.5 runs more stable than ever.
-I got no bluescreens of death
-System tends to nearly freeze in sometimes. After it, it runs again but very slowed down and only a restart helps.
-Abiword doesn't start

CD doesn't work on my hardware.

walter
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: north italy

Post by walter »

i'll try it as soon as possible :D

thanks to everybody made this possible, especially all the devs :)

RotzKotz_ere
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by RotzKotz_ere »

Keep up the good work!
Looking forward... :D

Sosekoppen
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:39 am
Location: Norway

Post by Sosekoppen »

Yippey!!
Tried it in Qemu, and it hangs a bit, but that's because I have AMD Athlon XP, right?

P.S! Started to write an article about ROS on a norwegian site, but it just disappeared when I was about to submit it... :(

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord »

no
if it was u cpu it should not even boot.

the iusse is only affact real hw and vmware workstaions
for amdxp/64

alfozavr
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:25 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by alfozavr »

Hello. Congratulations on the release of the new version! I was amazed by the amount of changes in the Release notes.

Unfortunately, ReactOS 0.3.1 REL live CD didn't boot for me.
Take it into account, that ReactOS 0.3.0 REL live CD did boot on the same PC successfully and I could even run some programms and browse through the system.
But ReactOS 0.3.1 REL live CD boots only until the logo screen. Then my CD-drive just stops reading any data from the CD and nothing happens then.

I wrote both versions to the same CD-RW (certainly finalized the sessions and certainly each time one iso, not both at the same time).

My PC specifications:
ASUS TUSL-2C motherboard, P3 1000MHz CPU, 256mb SDRAM,
ATi Radeon 8500LE 64mb, Creative SB Audigy,
TEAC CD-W524E, Toshiba DVD SD-M1802,
HDD Seagate ST380011A (primary FAT32 partition, secondary NTFS partition),
D-Link DWL-G510 Wi-Fi adapter, Pinnacle PCTV tuner

hto
Developer
Posts: 2193
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 3:43 pm

Post by hto »

Tried it in Qemu, and it hangs a bit [...]
There are two known bugs in ReactOS.

1. Do not use KQEMU Accelerator on ReactOS installation.
2. After ReactOS rebooting, close QEMU and then run it again.

qietan
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:31 pm
Location: Germany

Post by qietan »

I tried it a few times. Live cd didn't boot, tried it an 2 PCs.
after that i tried to install it.
PC data:
Athlon XP 1200
Nvidia GeForce4 MX 4000
Motherboard EPOX 8RDA3+ (nforce 2 ultra 400 chipset)

but it could not format my HD (there was a fat32 partion on it)

after that i formated it under win98 with PQmagic to fat, but wenn i tried to install it hang up when it tries to copy data on HD :-( what can i do?

i was waiting for it so long

ixrayi
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:43 am

Post by ixrayi »

It can be a Problem with the MBR !
I have used for this Problem Active@Kill Disk. A Hard Drive Eraser. Low Level Format.


If that was the Problem please write.

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Z98 »

I'm actually somewhat surprised you got so far on an AMD XP machine. There's a known problem with those because of unimplemented trap code.

barker
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:27 pm

0.31 live CD fails to boot

Post by barker »

Same problem here as the others,
live CD gets to splash screen and then halts. No more data being read from the drive.
Tried on 2 different machines - one with AMD Duron, one with Intel P3.

Nice splash screen though ;-)

barker

fritz.mueller
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:01 am

Installation on HD fails

Post by fritz.mueller »

I tried to install Reactos 0.3.1 on a 4 GB HD on a AMD System 2800 MHz, MSI K7N2Delta mainboard, 1 GB RAM. It also hangs after the reactos logo. The interesting fact (which I will test once again) is that on standard systems like windows the kernel is the first file on the FAT partition (it is on one of the first
physical sectors) whereas on reactos it seems to be anywhere in the middle (tested with encase - will make one more test). And if the kernel is not loaded correct, nothing will work. Maybe an equivalent of this could be the bug on the CD too.

barker
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:27 pm

Vmware virtual machine also fails to boot

Post by barker »

after failing on a couple of machines with the liveCD I installed VMware player and tried the vmware edition.
Same result - splash screen then nothing.

No messages so hard to know what's wrong.

barker

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests