VMWare Tools - click Install but it does nothing?

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
fivecougars
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 5:52 am

VMWare Tools - click Install but it does nothing?

Post by fivecougars »

Ive just downloaded the latest VMWare image for ReactOS 0.3.0, tried to Install VMWare Tools, but it just sits there as if doing nothing. The menu text changes to "Cancel VMWare Tools install", but clicking that does nothing either. It doesnt BSOD or anything, it just does nothing, I also used the Upgrade Virtual Machine on it, but that didnt help. Any ideas anyone ??
Thanks

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Z98 »

If I remember correctly, 0.3.0 doesn't support VMWare tools. Don't know if trunk does either. But in the download section, there's a premade VMWare image that you can try. Otherwise, don't use install VMWare tools.

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord »

vmware tools are not suppored in reactos or windows 2000
1. vmware tools crash under install in reactos by CC (cache mangers)

2. vmware tools crash windows 2000 after it reboot or when it install
least the lates vmware doing that.

3. in windows xp it is working.

fivecougars
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 5:52 am

Post by fivecougars »

But in the download section, there's a premade VMWare image that you can try
That's what I'm using
3. in windows xp it is working.
Not on my XP!
By the way, my XP uses ntkrnlpa.exe, not ntoskrnl.exe, if that makes any difference

Without VMWare tools you cant copy files back and forth between the OS's, and unfortunately ReactOS can't see my USB driver either - "USB controller initialization failed. A supported host USB driver was not found"
Looks like I'll have to use a floppy disk lol

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests