DirectX 10 for ROS and real XP?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Ratteler

DirectX 10 for ROS and real XP?

Post by Ratteler »

I know that ReactOS plans to implement a DX9 environment, but given the state of Windows... would it be possible to leapfrog DX9 and create a DirectX10 compatible system.

Given that ROS will eventually emulate XP, there would be a huge demand for a working DX10 clone that ran under REAL XP, as well as on the ROS kernal.

Really, DX10 is the only part of Vista that has any value do to games written specifically for it. The rest of Vista is well... XP with a fake OS X interface on it.

I'll put $100 into a bounty for DX10 for XP/ROS right now!!! and I'll add $25 a month.

walter

Post by walter »

i'm not a programmer, but since dx in vista has changed a lot from xp, i think it's not very easy.

if i recall correctly, vista has both directx 10 and 9.0l (9.0 is for retrocompatibility). windows xp can't have dx 10 because these need a different driver model.

frik85
Developer

Post by frik85 »

ReactOS 0.6 will have full DirectX 1-9 support (including DDraw which has been discontinued, last version is v. 7).

DX 10 is only partly based on former DX code base and is incompatible in some ways (kernel, etc.). Which means that a seperate implementation is requiered, although there is no roadmap about DX available, at current date.

DirectX 10 beta works fine in WinXP SP2 (but not with full power, because of some NT 6 kernel changes). So if DX 10 won't get released for WinXP it looks more like a PR decision to push Vista than anything else.

Remember, don't beleave every marketing crap you may read/hear on some news media which are acting like jumping-jacks for big companies.

Cristan

Post by Cristan »