ROS as standard OS in Internet Cafe

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

infinitefate

ROS as standard OS in Internet Cafe

Post by infinitefate »

Hi! I'm an internet cafe owner here in the Philippines. I am very much excited on a stable release of ROS because it will greatly help us cut our cost in software licenses. With ROS as our OS, Mozilla Firefox as Internet Browser and OpenOffice as our Office Productivity Suite, we will spend virtually nothing on good software for a basic cafe. I sure hope that ROS would provide good support for outstanding games like Warcraft III and online games because they are very much in demand here in our country. I have very little knowledge in coding so I think the best way I can contribute to this project is to test programs, report feedback, and tell others about this project. Once again, thanks and hope you can have a stable release soon. =)
forart

Re: ROS as standard OS in Internet Cafe

Post by forart »

infinitefate wrote:we will spend virtually nothing on good software for a basic cafe.
Wanna remember everyone that open source DOES NOT means free of charge.

Of course, ROS (as other software you mentioned) are distributed freely, but consider to donate even a small percentage of your profit to support projects, expecially for ROS that is in alpha stage.
infinitefate wrote:I think the best way I can contribute to this project is to test programs, report feedback, and tell others about this project.
Sure, you can also print some phisical flyers for cafe customers; check out the Press Kit page on the wiki.
»Forward Agency NPO
In progress we (always) trust.
EmuandCo
Developer

Post by EmuandCo »