HELP: Books for self education?

All development related issues welcome

Moderator: Moderator Team

GeorgeTheMad

HELP: Books for self education?

Post by GeorgeTheMad »

This massage is for the developers of ReactOS.

Can you tell me, which kind of education do I need to participate in coding ReactOS? I have been programming in standard C for 4 years now, but I suppose there is much more one has to learn before jumping into OS coding.

It would be great to have a list of books, links and other resources for self education (maybe a page on the wiki in the future?). That would be very useful for any newbie.

Thank you for your help!

Harteex

Post by Harteex »

I'm not a dev but afaik Windows Internals is a good book.
http://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-Windows ... F8&s=books

Though, you might be able to help anyway, with other areas of ROS.

GeorgeTheMad

Books

Post by GeorgeTheMad »

I've found http://www.reactos.org/wiki/index.php/Suggested_Reading but what about books on reverse engineering?

Ged
Developer

Post by Ged »

reverse engineering is not encouraged.
In fact, if you reverse a Windows component, you are then banned from directly working on that component in ReactOS.

You must implement components by reading external sources of information (e.g. Windows Internals or probert) and writing test cases.

If you do reverse a component, you can write documentation of your findings, which another dev can then use to implement the said component. This is known as 'clean room' reverse engineering, which is the _only_ acceptable form.

GeorgeTheMad

Reversing

Post by GeorgeTheMad »

I know, its illegal to steal code directly from reversing.

But what's the problem with understanding and re-implementing something?
Why is it better if its done by two persons rather than one.

GeorgeTheMad

Reversing

Post by GeorgeTheMad »

Maybe its to ensure there is absolutely no stolen code?

Ged
Developer

Post by Ged »