Project - Rehab AMD E-300 APU with Radeon tm

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Cyrellys

Project - Rehab AMD E-300 APU with Radeon tm

Post by Cyrellys »

Project - Rehab AMD E-300 APU with Radeon (tm)

Hi, Someone suggested I keep a record here of this project and any successes. Cy

Ok so first a few caveats:

I'm not a programmer nor hardware saavy per se. Just someone with spurts of time, and access to junk that usually ends up in the trash bin. I have rehab'd older machines periodically using software like Linux Puppy to get them running....but I'm not very good nor comfortable with Linux as I've always been a Windows user. I've been using my rehab'd machines for my built from scratch Internet Radio Station: Mind Mix Radio https://mindmixradio.com (site) https://tinyurl.com/mindmixradio (stream). I'm 100% self taught which is not saying much, imo. Maybe I should say 100% persistent at hunting for solutions?

Ok the machine:

Authentic AMD in an ACER
AMD E-300 APU with Radeon (tm)
HD Graphics
1.0 GHz
3.49 GB of Ram

Originally had Windows 7

Took physical damage from fall from BUNKBED to concrete floor below. Case has damage...but screen is good. Was totally non-bootable when I started...Windows was effectively M.I.A. That is how I received it...was originally a homeschoolers laptop.

THE PROJECT PROGRESS:

Downloaded to USB data stick REACTOS via a different computer. Was a zip file of ISO.

Earlier this year made initial attempt to install. No go. Wasn't sure if my download was good so redownloaded the REACTOS file.

06202020 Had time. Attempted multiple times to install from USB stick the REACTOS file...no go. Unzipped the file onto the stick itself. Tried a few more times. SUCCESS! not sure if unzipping helped (fyi). The regular install option didn't work, choosing "Emergency Management Services" did.