Software Requests?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

jdbiggers

Software Requests?

Post by jdbiggers »

I am new to this forum and have not had time to go through all the possible request in other posts. I will do so, but, in the meanwhile, does anyone have any software they wish to see available for ReactOS?

Just a little background...I have been writing software (self-taught) for nearly 27 years. I write mostly native PE Executables using Delphi Don't laugh...I can prototype a complete application faster and the executables run faster. Never liked script languages or languages that needed an intermediate interpreter like "Delphi-Flat" aka C# and .NET. But I have some experience with that, as well. I have written everything from complete field data collection utilities (more than 12,000 fields of data which go to specific parts of forms) with integrated sketching and voice notes that run on portable embedded devices, to complex form engines and "Office" type applications. My forte was essentially conversion utilities so that data could be more efficiently utilized and analyzed, including statistical analysis. I had the fourth largest software company user base in the world for a particular and difficult market which had to integrate with many systems and government agencies, and I was the only "employee" (all the others had from 40 to 400 programmers!). I mostly wrote software out of necessity, because what existed did not suit my needs. Quite often, I've found, people who write industry-specific software actually have no idea how that industry actually works.