on Parallels(mac emulator),I get "userinit failed to start"

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Noamboy123
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:04 pm

on Parallels(mac emulator),I get "userinit failed to start"

Post by Noamboy123 » Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:22 pm

hi, i'm running mac os x ei captain and using Parallels Desktop 11 for Mac. whenever I'm given the option to either "Run ReactOS Live CD" or "Install ReactOS" I click "Install ReactOS" and then it says "Userinit failed to start the installer!"


HEILP!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Pi_User5
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 4:18 am
Location: United States

Re: on Parallels(mac emulator),I get "userinit failed to sta

Post by Pi_User5 » Sat Jun 04, 2016 3:36 am

You can't install ReactOS from a LiveCD. It simply does not contain the proper files to do an install. As of right now, ReactOS can not be installed from a LiveCD or any other ReactOS boot media. It's not implemented and it won't be implemented for some time.
I use ReactOS on real hardware. Will you? My Computers: https://www.reactos.org/wiki/PC_ROS_Rigs Go all the way to the bottom.

Image

dram
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:18 pm

Re: on Parallels(mac emulator),I get "userinit failed to sta

Post by dram » Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:25 pm

Then maybe you should remove the button that implies
that it can. Or at least grey-out/disable.

Then thousands of people all over the world won't spend
an hour each trying, getting really pissed off at your OS,
before they give up or find this page.

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4355
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: on Parallels(mac emulator),I get "userinit failed to sta

Post by EmuandCo » Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:40 pm

My reply will be quite direct, just as warning. We currently are alpha quality/status and have way worse stuff to do and fix right now. For example fix the bugs currently make mentioned install from live cd impossible. Or problems with memory management or cache handling of I/O or a way longer list I will not post here now. GUI look and feel is quite secondary and that will stay that way for some time. If there is some bug in there which has a high priority for ppl knowing what alpha status means or make the OS hang reproducible, this is another case of course. Anything else will be made nice and correct when internal core is ready for a GUI showing a polished status. Until then only a compatible internal structure is important.
Image
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

dizt3mp3r
Posts: 1488
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:54 pm

Re: on Parallels(mac emulator),I get "userinit failed to sta

Post by dizt3mp3r » Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:24 pm

First of all read the installation instructions: https://reactos.org/wiki/Installing_ReactOS
Skillset: VMS sysadmin 20 years, fault Tolerance, cluster, Vax, Alpha, ftSparc. DCL, QB45, VB6, NET, PHP, JS, CMS, Graphics, Project Manager, DOS, Windows admin from 1985. Quad Electronics. Classic cars & motorbikes. Artist watercolours. Historian.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests