Live CD help

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
codecraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:28 pm

Live CD help

Post by codecraig »

Hi,
I downloaded the Live CD, unzipped the ISO and burned it to a CD-R. I rebooted my laptop, and chose to boot from the CD drive...after a few seconds of having a blank screen, it started to boot Windows.

Am I missing something?

Alkali
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 4:30 am
Location: US

Likely the Bios

Post by Alkali »

It is possible that your bios are not set to boot from CD.

codecraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:28 pm

Post by codecraig »

Well, that doesn't seem to be it. When the computer first starts up if I press F12 I get to choose where to boot from...and I choose CD-ROM.

codecraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:28 pm

Post by codecraig »

p.s.
I bet you didn't know I've been a ReactOS member since Jan 1, 1970! :lol:

Meklort
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:53 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by Meklort »

Sorry for the question, but...
Did you just copy the file onto the cd, or did you actualy burn the image (not the file)?

codecraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:28 pm

Post by codecraig »

I just burned the ISO onto the CD using DeepBurner.

Is there a certain way to do it?

GreyGhost
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:16 pm

Post by GreyGhost »

If U are following the method given in the Deep Burner documentation then it must work... It will something like "burn an ISO " or something similar (everybody have that same thing in the document I think..... :wink: )

I dont know much (pretty dumb question that i amm asking) did U save the settings for the cd-rom boot?

(Dont mind my use of smilies i am not that good at them)

codecraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:28 pm

Post by codecraig »

Doh! I don't think I used the "Burn as ISO"...I just burned a regular disc....I don't know what I was thinking. I'll try again.

codecraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:28 pm

Post by codecraig »

Ok, live CD works...although not much to do with it. I.E. no network, no programs...but hey, I guess it's a start.

One thing to mention, when loading from the CD there was a "No APM BIOS" message on the screen just before the ReactOS was displayed.

Ged
Developer
Posts: 925
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: UK

Post by Ged »

codecraig wrote:Doh! I don't think I used the "Burn as ISO"...I just burned a regular disc....I don't know what I was thinking. I'll try again.
You weren't doing the same with the bootcd iso, were you?

codecraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:28 pm

Post by codecraig »

Nope...I burned the image successfully and boot up in ReactOS successfully.[/quote]

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests