[0.2.8] [Setup - Part I] Installation problem

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Paulk
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:08 pm

[0.2.8] [Setup - Part I] Installation problem

Post by Paulk »

Hi,
Just trying to install version 0.2.8 on my laptop*. I downloaded the ISO image and burned it on a cd. Tested it in windows en it gives a autorun.

When i boot the laptop from cd it gives me a boot screen of reactos with a white block at the bottom of the screen saying that is loading several files.

Then I get the "welcome page" (http://www.reactos.org/media/screenshot ... all_01.jpg) except it only says: ReactOS 0.2.8 Setup.

I tried installing 0.2.7 and i get the same problem.

*Specs dell latitude c 600 (little bit overkill):
Intel® Mobile Pentium® III 750 mhz
256 MB SDRAM
8mb ATI Mobility M3
80 gig hard drive 1 partition c:\ fat 32 no os installed
http://www.stthomasschool.org/Dell/specs.htm

Paulk
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:08 pm

Post by Paulk »

Anybody a suggestion?

The only thing I can think off is creating a live cd and try this first. When the live cd runs correct then i will copy the installion files to the harddrive and try to install reactos from harddrive.

GreyGhost
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:16 pm

Post by GreyGhost »

Yeah if U want test the livecd or use Qemu first......
Do get an error?
or
are u looking for a step by stp tutorial on installation...
if so look here,
http://reactosde.re.funpic.de/mediadeta ... or&mdnr=48

thanks to Klemens Friedl . (should always give proper credit)

P.S. it reads 0.2.5 But dont worry its more or less the same...

Paulk
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:08 pm

Post by Paulk »

On the laptop is no OS installed so i can't try Qemu. I can try Qemu on my pc (This gives no problem)
Looking to the tutorial i can see that the installtion gets stuck before i get the first screen. (it only say's: eactOS 0.2.8 Setup.)

GreyGhost
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:16 pm

Post by GreyGhost »

Sorry i misunderstood the question at first and i dont know too much about this stuff ....so i asked at the irc... try this....

(19:05:27) blight_: ahh yes now i understood
(19:05:35) blight_: hm maybe tab+b would help
(19:05:43) blight_: if thats enabled in those builds

Paulkned
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:04 pm

Post by Paulkned »

Hi,
This tab+b thinks doesn't do anything (i tried it while booting, crashing, loading etc)

I just created a live cd, while booting this I get the same sort of problem. The cd boots and it shows the first bootscreen where it says loading $flashing files$ and it gives a notice of reactos whit I brief license (I think, it go’s very quick :( )
Then I get a blanc black screen and it does nothing anymore. (also tab+b doesn’t work here.

Anybody another idea?

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4386
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo »

Perhaps you should reset BIOS settings. This helped me many times with my Windows. But I'm just a tester not a coder. If it doesn't work, ask in IRC chat, thats faster than Forum.

willwinuk
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:34 pm

blue setup

Post by willwinuk »

Hi,

I also get it hang at the blue screen that says 'ReactOS 1.2.8-RELEASE Setup' and I am not using a laptop. :(

WaxDragon
Developer
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 8:02 am

Post by WaxDragon »

This sounds suspiciously like the AllocConsole bug

http://www.reactos.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=688

Which has been "fixed" for the most part.

Please give the 0.2.9 branch a try!

You can get install isos from http://svn.reactos.org/iso

Just choose ros-branch-0_2_9 and hit the "Latest ISO" button.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests