Updating ReactOS manually

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
auron
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 2:52 am
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Contact:

Updating ReactOS manually

Post by auron »

The next question is how to update the files manually to the latest build?

I'm using XP, so could I just move files over from the iso...opening the cab file and just copy files over to where they belong under d:\reactos?

Ged
Developer
Posts: 925
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: UK

Post by Ged »

It's best to reinstall from scratch everytime, especially since the registry is changing quite lot at the moment.

auron
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 2:52 am
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Contact:

can't use install

Post by auron »

should have posted this under my original thread.

the reason I need to do this manually is because I get an installation error when using the install cd. I can run a livecd, qemu fine. is it because I have a sata drive?

I'm using XP, so I took the 0.2.8 qemu image and copied it to the fat32 partition and used grub to boot it up. I would like to see the latest work now that I'm hooked.

since I can't use the install cd, what's the next best thing for installing the latest files?

GvG
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by GvG »

So you can boot via Grub into FreeLdr and then into ReactOS, but you can't boot from the install CD? That's weird...

auron
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 2:52 am
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Contact:

allocConsole() failed

Post by auron »

GvG wrote:So you can boot via Grub into FreeLdr and then into ReactOS, but you can't boot from the install CD? That's weird...
during install I get:

AllocConsole() failed (Status=0xc0000001)

so instead I did it manually. so how do update manually?!

GvG
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by GvG »

Are you using a USB keyboard? USB keyboard is not supported yet and will result in the AllocConsole error message during install.

auron
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 2:52 am
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Contact:

usb keyboard

Post by auron »

GvG wrote:Are you using a USB keyboard? USB keyboard is not supported yet and will result in the AllocConsole error message during install.
i have a usb keyboard that has a ps/2 port adapter. My box has ports for the keyboard and mouse so I'm using them instead of usb. I did the same with the mouse (using the adapter).

Regardless, the keyboard and the mouse work with 0.2.8 after my manual install so all I want to do is upgrade to the latest release manually.
Last edited by auron on Sat Nov 12, 2005 2:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Re: can't use install

Post by Jaix »

auron wrote:should have posted this under my original thread.
No, a new thread is apropriate, dual boot and manual installation is two completely different questions, else it will be hard to find later on.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Google [Bot] and 1 guest