News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

sh4ring4n
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:05 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by sh4ring4n » Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:22 am

Just switch to the atapi driver. hm... WORKSFORME as someone said here ;)
PS: Cancel the Gecko engine nag screen :D
Didn't work, crashed vbox. :evil:
The cake is a lie!

betaluva
Posts: 424
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 1:33 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by betaluva » Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:07 am

i will test a few apps too, i will have to run vmware inside winXP mode cause i cant get ANY version of vmware to install on my windows 7 32bit professional pc.

wojo664
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:39 pm

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by wojo664 » Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:38 am

Didn't work, crashed vbox. :evil:
O.o Impossible...
What is the error??
Can You tell us what is Your Virtual config?
Try to "mess a little" with storage section- expecially PIIX3, PIIX4 and ICH6 setting... That's really strange. Atapi never crashed VirtualBox...

Black_Fox
Posts: 1584
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by Black_Fox » Thu Feb 17, 2011 4:08 pm

Should we use 50721 or 722 then? Here's 721 and on test page 722 :)

EDIT: 50722 is unrelated to trunk, so it doesn't matter, both should be the same...

BlackSVK
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by BlackSVK » Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:28 pm

I tested Total Commander 7.04a, Total Commander 7.50a, Silverlight and Sudoku. I will test more apps later

evilslon
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:39 pm
Location: Russia, Ivanovo
Contact:

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by evilslon » Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:55 pm

Two more apps tested by me: Download Master v. 5.5.8.1151, firefox 1.5 and Unreal Commander 0.96. So pity that now i don't have time to help with testing, maybe on weekend...
Last edited by evilslon on Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Saibamen
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:19 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by Saibamen » Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:16 pm

Next day of wiki spam :P I tested more apps. Just watch Recent Changes :)

To all testers: don't add comment if everything works! For example view comment on Firefox 1.5 -.-
ReactOS Forum Global Moderator
IT-Maniak.pl administrator

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by Haos » Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:59 pm

@mrugiero
Expression: pwfb->cColorBits == 0 || pwfb->cColorBits == 16 || pwfb->cColorBits == 24 || pwfb->cColorBits == 32"
The same says in the DOSBox window.
Looks like you're running ROS in 8bpp. Dont expect MESA to work in this mode...

mrugiero
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 9:12 am

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by mrugiero » Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:00 am

Haos wrote:@mrugiero
Expression: pwfb->cColorBits == 0 || pwfb->cColorBits == 16 || pwfb->cColorBits == 24 || pwfb->cColorBits == 32"
The same says in the DOSBox window.
Looks like you're running ROS in 8bpp. Dont expect MESA to work in this mode...
Then it fails to change resolution, the first thing I did every time I booted it was changing the resolution and color width.
I use it with 800x600 and 24 bpp, but it seems to be that, since I didn't saw any change in the colors (I supposed it was the VM or something with the desktop).

EDIT: I tested again changing first the color width, saving the config and then changing the resolution.
DOSBox sort of works now.

ReactOS does not give focus correctly to windows.
I'll try starting normal mode (I used debug mode every time). It helps with the resolution and color width problem (it saves it now), and seems to work OK.
The focus problem is still there.


I see I didn't copy the error with unreal commander, it is "stream read error".

Another thing, SCUMMVM does not seem to have an option to disable sound, so probably that's what causes the crash (the assertion is in the mixer.cpp after all), I'm using the virtual machine without sound.

led-bloon
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:08 am

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by led-bloon » Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:35 am

Code: Select all

ReactOS 3.13 General
1. Unable to create desktop shortcuts (links) from desktop.
2.  Device Manager - USB icon replaces top level icons, when any level expanded
3.  Unable to read (copy) more than 280 MBytes of data from CDROM. Using explorer,
    other file managers & video progs. This figure varies slightly. ReactOS hangs. 

Program Testing:
Results                 Version     Rating      Comments
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
7Zip                    4.64        90%         Random ReactOS crashes on/after exit but works well
Abiword                 2.6.6       75%         Painting, cursor + probs.
Audacity                1.2.6       50%         Painting probs, registry key close fail, loaded wav file
                                                but didn't play it.
Firefox                 3.6.13      90%         Fast display! Works well. Vert (horiz?) scrollbars prob.
Foxit Reader            3.2.1       25%         Installs but crashes with screen paint problems.
FreeBasic               0.21        90%         Compiler compiles, IDE (default) probs drawing (toolbar),
                                                Firefly IDE crashes ReactOS on load. Help file (chm) NO
                                                text on RHS for any topic.
InfraRecorder           0.50        25%         Installs but can't load files from CDROM.
Media Player Classic    6.4.9       25%         Crashed load/play VOB, mpg & avi.
Media Player Home Cine  1.4.xxxx    0%          Cannot load to install IO stream error(????) ok my machine.
                                                VMWare bug?
Notepad++               5.8.2       90%         Settings/preferences: TAB headers change, but TAB "sheet"s
                                                not updated.


Extras:
cdrtfe (P)              1.3.9       0%          Install ok, crashes on run.
Cubic Explorer (P)      0.9.0       0%          Install ok, crashes on run.
FreeCommander (P) 2009              0%          Install ok, crashes on run.
JK Defrag (P)           3.3.6       25%         Installs but cannot analyse harddisk, hence cannot defrag disk.
Smart Defrag (F)        1.5         25%         Installs but can't find harddisk.
VirtualDubMod           1.5.10      25%         Installs ok. Partial load/display of large VOBs (on error) but 
                                                can't load FULL large VOBs or MPGs (from CDROM OR FILE).
Xenon (P)               1.5         50%         "Window ontop" not working (error msgbox hidden) + other funnies.

Rating:     Guesstimate on usability/user acceptance
Abbrev.:    (P) portable: (F) Freeware
Testbed:    AMD Athlon 2650e 1GB RAM: Windows XP Home SP3: VMWare Player 2.0.x
Virtual:    384MB RAM: 4GB Disk: CDROM/HardDisk/Ethernet (vlance)/ReactOS svga (1024x768x32)
            No USB, serial, parallel, sound, floppy
Hope this helps, but I feel a more orderly approach needed????
Will start on more of the programs on the list.
(Edit: tidied table)
AMD Athlon 2650e - Windows XP Home SP3 - VMWare Player v2

betaluva
Posts: 424
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 1:33 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by betaluva » Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:54 am

DosBox = installed and worked fine
VB 5.0 libs= installed fine
VB 6.0lib= extracted but would not install
OLE = downloaded but would not install
Tahoma font installer= installed fine
7zip 9.2 = installed fine and worked
Firefox 3.0 installed and worked fine
Windows Media Encoder 9 = gave a message "you need to install Diecrtx 8.1 or higher"
==================
Super finder 1.6.2.1= Killed my vm
Blue screened

Stop: 0x0000007E ( 0x0000005,0xf87ef89f,0xf8490bfc,0x00000000 )
win32k.sys - A06rfss F87EF89F base at F87650000,date stamp 4d5af9ec
Last edited by betaluva on Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:06 am, edited 2 times in total.

sh4ring4n
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:05 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by sh4ring4n » Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:01 am

Can we apply all hackfix on 0.3.13? It'll make it more usable :D .
The cake is a lie!

wildschwein
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:13 pm

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by wildschwein » Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:15 am

If you only see blue fields on the 100+ page, try this trick...

Click on the link "latest revision" two lines under "Tests for 0.3.13"

found this out by incident....

sh4ring4n
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:05 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by sh4ring4n » Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:37 am

O.o Impossible...
What is the error??
Can You tell us what is Your Virtual config?
Try to "mess a little" with storage section- expecially PIIX3, PIIX4 and ICH6 setting... That's really strange. Atapi never crashed VirtualBox...

Didn't work, see http://www.reactos.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=5913 for more
The cake is a lie!

ch_123
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:30 am

Re: News: 0.3.13 is in the forge!!Read more..

Post by ch_123 » Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:52 am

Running it inside VMware Workstation 7 on Linux. If I open Regional Settings during the graphical portion of the installation phase, it hangs when I close it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 2 guests