Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Davy Bartoloni
Posts: 1483
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Cuneo
Contact:

Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by Davy Bartoloni » Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:07 pm

on latest version of Qemu ( http://qemu-forum.ipi.fi/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4953 )
using Ac97 audio drivers ( http://svn.reactos.org/packages/ac97_vbox.exe )
and latest ReactOS DEBUG-BUILD ... Winamp played the demo-song :)

THX to CARLO and Gabriel for the qemu news :)

Image

now it's time to add the AC97 switch to RosTE ...
Last edited by Davy Bartoloni on Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:34 pm, edited 4 times in total.

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by vicmarcal » Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:09 pm

:)
Now we need...to...have it working in VBOX and VMWare..But good work :)
Image

Davy Bartoloni
Posts: 1483
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Cuneo
Contact:

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by Davy Bartoloni » Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:12 pm

?? on VBOX it's already working... ( some strange errors but first-mp3 plays fine.. )
Image
Last edited by Davy Bartoloni on Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by vicmarcal » Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:18 pm

then VMWare.. :)
Image

Nintendo Maniac 64
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:08 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by Nintendo Maniac 64 » Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:01 am

AC97? I have that (onboard) sound card! :D As an audiophile, this is very exciting.

Time for alpha testing! (though the installation CD never did work, but the Live CD does!)

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by vicmarcal » Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:14 am

Nintendo which is your PC hardware? :)
Image

Nintendo Maniac 64
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:08 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by Nintendo Maniac 64 » Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:20 am

Copy and pasted from my NGEmu sig...

CPU: Athlon XP 2100+ OC'd @ 2GHz
GPU: Radeon 9600 256MB AGP OC'd @ 425 core : 200 mem
RAM: 512MB DDR + 256MB DDR

And one thing not stated on it...
Mobo: ECS k7s5a Pro

EDIT: Only problem is, since I can only use the live CD, I'm having issues figuring a way to put the driver files in the ISO or on the CD...

EDIT 2: Nevermind, MagicISO seems to have worked. The trial is apparently limited to 300MB, but ReactOS ISOs are tiny anyway. ;) Now to test it!

EDIT 3: ...or not. The disc wouldn't boot with my custom-made ISO >_>. Can't you guys just add the drivers to the SVN or something so I can test on real hardware? Come on, I'm eager to test and blow some stuff up! :P

EDIT 4: bah, according to people in #reactos-testers, I'd have to edit the registry anyway to get it to work on the LiveCD. So now I have no way to test this on my AC97. :/

On a somewhat related note, I discovered that MPlayer seems to be working perfectly, but obviously can't test much until I get my audio working... (I used the PortableApps version, but launched from the actual app EXE and not the portableapps launcher EXE)

q4a
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:23 am

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by q4a » Sat Apr 04, 2009 7:16 am

I have sound on qemu 0.10.1, but how to redirect sound from qemu to host's sound card?
---
UPD:
Problem resolved. http://qemu-forum.ipi.fi/viewtopic.php? ... &sk=t&sd=a here u can find links to qemu 0.10.1 and "test version with sound (sdl, dsound and fmod) enabled and usb using libusb-win32".
So, download qemu-0.10.1.7z from here:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=AECYVOVK
than qemuusb.7z from here:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=SGPJGPUI
Copy all files from qemuusb to qemu-0.10.1. Than start qemu:
SET QEMU_AUDIO_DRV=sdl //(or dsound , or fmod)
qemu * -soundhw pcspk,ac97 *
Than install ac97 driver and media player. You can find ac97 driver here:
http://www.mibbit.com/up/CIReC35Z.zip
or http://www.file-upload.net/download-150 ... s.zip.html
or anywhere else =)
---
For me works only sdl and fmod method, but not so good as in vbox. dsound - don't work for me.
Last edited by q4a on Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:18 am, edited 2 times in total.


Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by Haos » Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:25 pm

I do recommend everyone using qemu to update to 0.10.1... Note that this version actually supports... GUS. GRAVIS!!

Thx for info, I will test sound in Qemu soon. Till this moment i can vouch for sound working on my real hardware, with Intel 80821 based AC97 sound chip. Playback is not completely smooth, some conversion debug is breaking it up from time to time, but its clear and loud, no tearings, no audible trashing. Both Winamp and Foobar work, but winamp 2,95 is offering bit smoother playback, on foobar playback is interrupted bit more often.

Almost ready for release...

On Vbox it should work as well, but i`m experiencing some strange issues in my Vbox 2.1.4 on Vista32 host. Despite everything being set properly in vm and vbox control panel i cant hear the actual sound. I managed to do it once or twice, but the problem persists.

Ged
Developer
Posts: 925
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by Ged » Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:47 pm

it works in vmware

Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by Blackcrack » Sat Apr 04, 2009 4:44 pm

humm, it is a idea/suggest to make an driverdownload-manager to get the right driver and download it.. and why not making paralell by develope of the Downloader by side... humm.. call some factorys to give an little support... maby an bit serverplace for some drivers to make an "standart" driverpath for diffrent domains on some hardwaremanufacturer.. they profit afterwards finally from Reactos. naturally one should not straight Intel on write, but why not Creative (with SB16 drivers ) or Via (with them AC97-Drivers) . Easy as testrun to get later possibility atomatic difrent drivers direktly from the manufacturer.. easy as suggest...
The script/text of locations be smaller as the fully drivers, isn't it ?
Only the networkdrivers be a must have for it.. and the most of it,
it is with a the Networkcard. the other have a CD.

best regards
Blacky

betaluva
Posts: 424
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 1:33 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by betaluva » Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:33 am

@GED, what driver did you use in vmware? vmware tools audio?

Carlo Bramix
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:43 am
Location: Italy

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by Carlo Bramix » Sun Apr 05, 2009 1:10 pm

ARGH!!!!
Although QEMU 0.10.1 works perfectly under XP (at least, it seems), it does not start on any earlier version of Windows (9x or NT) because it says that freeaddrinfo function is not exported by ws2_32.dll!!!!!!!!!!!

Sincerely,

Carlo Bramini.

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Post by Z98 » Sun Apr 05, 2009 4:51 pm

We stopped supporting development on anything older than Windows 2000 a while ago.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 4 guests