XP on ancient computer

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

cppm
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 10:03 pm

XP on ancient computer

Post by cppm »

http://www.winhistory.de/more/386/xpmini_eng.htm

It is possible to run NT based OS's on really quite sparse hardware, this is, however quite an extreme example...

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord »

yes it is, see NT 4.0 it run fine on i486

elhoir
Test Team
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Post by elhoir »

will we be able to run ros on those pcs?

cppm
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 10:03 pm

Post by cppm »

Well, this appears to have been a custom rig, but theoretically there should be no restriction on running RoS on these specs.

Mind you, run might not be the right way of describing it, perhaps crawl

Guennie1568
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:46 pm
Location: Germany, Bavarya, Neumarkt
Contact:

Post by Guennie1568 »

That's a interesting and funny test of OS installing and "running ". I never had tested so slowly PCs with WinXP.
Guennie1568
ROS-Fan und X2Pandora Audioeditor

etko
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:43 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by etko »

My personal record is nLited WinXP pro on PII 233 MHZ, 32 MB RAM, 1 GB HDD, two monitors :), nvRiva TNT Ultra64 + Matrox Mystique.

Fscking slow as hell. On 32 MB RAM HUGE swapping having prefetch enabled or disabled. 256 MB ram makes thing more responsive but you can still see windows drawing. Two monitors affect performance immeasurably.

Observation from high-end systems. PCI GFX card for second/third monitor tends to break things considerably when windows spans the screen split, I guess PCI/PCIe/AGP transfer is at work.

Even on Athlon 64 with PCIe and 2 GB RAM, you can see windows drawing when using PCI Matrox Mystique, but it doesn't affect performance of the computer at all.

Memory affect performance most. Fragmentation is second. Lesson learned windows internal defragmenter sucks badly, NTFS too on memory low system.

elhoir
Test Team
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Post by elhoir »

we are talking about running ROS on those pcs, not WinXP ;)

etko
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:43 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by etko »

Yeah, but no testing done, ROS barfs on each my old computer.

inclusivedisjunction
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:09 am

Post by inclusivedisjunction »

I really wish I still had some old 486 boxes around. The slowest I've got are some Pentium 200s. If I could get a spare 20 GB hard drive, I'd try to get Vista on one (previous personal best was PIII 600 Mhz and 256 MB of RAM).

elhoir
Test Team
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Post by elhoir »

a friend made it run on a laptop Pentium III 600 MHZ with 64 Mb RAM

and i have been running it for a while in a Pentium II 300 MHz with 384 Mb RAM

psyco001
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:30 pm

Post by psyco001 »

hmm i think i should crawl in my hardware chest.
i've a few old boards one of them is an old i286 20MHz, one i386 40MHz and one i486 66MHz

i only should find a HDD that is big enough for ros

inclusivedisjunction
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:09 am

Post by inclusivedisjunction »

psyco001 wrote:hmm i think i should crawl in my hardware chest.
i've a few old boards one of them is an old i286 20MHz, one i386 40MHz and one i486 66MHz

i only should find a HDD that is big enough for ros
You can forget about the 286; that's a 16-bit processor.

Carlo Bramix
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:43 am
Location: Italy

Post by Carlo Bramix »

I have a fully working 486DX at 33 MHz, Cirrus Logic ISA VGA with 1MB and VESA extensions in its bios and a 255 MB harddisk, but I cannot test ReactOS on it because that PC cannot boot from CD-ROM.
It must boot from floppy or harddisk first...

Sincerely,

Carlo Bramini.

inclusivedisjunction
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:09 am

Post by inclusivedisjunction »

Carlo Bramix wrote:I have a fully working 486DX at 33 MHz, Cirrus Logic ISA VGA with 1MB and VESA extensions in its bios and a 255 MB harddisk, but I cannot test ReactOS on it because that PC cannot boot from CD-ROM.
It must boot from floppy or harddisk first...

Sincerely,

Carlo Bramini.
Try the "Smart Boot Manager"

http://linux.simple.be/tools/sbm

You boot it from the floppy, and then it can boot the CD drive.

User avatar
Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Post by Jaix »

Carlo Bramix wrote:I have a fully working 486DX at 33 MHz, Cirrus Logic ISA VGA with 1MB and VESA extensions in its bios and a 255 MB harddisk, but I cannot test ReactOS on it because that PC cannot boot from CD-ROM.
It must boot from floppy or harddisk first...
You'll need at least 23M ram in your computer for ReactOS to boot, unless someone stripps it down first.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest