Suggestions for RosBE 0.4 - Any Ideas? Tell me

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4323
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Suggestions for RosBE 0.4 - Any Ideas? Tell me

Post by EmuandCo » Fri May 04, 2007 7:51 am

Hi, I started planning for RosBE 0.4 today.

I already have two things I need to do.
1. Uninstaller which ONLY deletes files installed by RosBE. (Hi RT|Chatzilla)
2. Hopefully GCC 4.2.0 support.

If you have any wishes or ideas, please tell me and I'll try to add the ones which I think could be useful.

Btw, can someone lead me to a manual how to build GCC for Win32? w3seek perhaps?

DmP
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 7:59 am

Re: Suggestions for RosBE 0.4 - Any Ideas? Tell me

Post by DmP » Fri May 04, 2007 4:55 pm

EmuandCo wrote: If you have any wishes or ideas, please tell me and I'll try to add the ones which I think could be useful.
Please, add last version GDB. Because in MinGW very old.

mikedep333
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 1:48 am
Location: United States

Post by mikedep333 » Fri May 04, 2007 6:12 pm

Get Rid of GCC 3.4.5. Now that it can no longer compile ROS, it just adds confusion.

And yes, the GDB would be nice.

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4323
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo » Fri May 04, 2007 6:15 pm

GCC 3.4.5 is dead already. Dralnix killed it and I got rid of it in the Scripts. I admit I have no experience with GDB,but I'll try, as soon as 0.3.6 is official.

samwise52
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:14 pm

Post by samwise52 » Sat May 05, 2007 1:45 pm

what does gdb got to do with mingw !?

compilers are overated... real men write in binary!
Can you picture what could be? So limitless and free.. in need of your help ReactOS 0.4

oiaohm
Posts: 1322
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 8:40 am

Post by oiaohm » Sun May 06, 2007 12:49 am

gdb is the normal debugger for mingw its part of the msys suite from mingw.

One request where able don't use svn snapshots of gcc. Use gcc release versions with selected patches. So we don't pickup development branch gremlins.

roytam1
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 11:14 am

Re: Suggestions for RosBE 0.4 - Any Ideas? Tell me

Post by roytam1 » Sun May 06, 2007 3:48 am

EmuandCo wrote:Btw, can someone lead me to a manual how to build GCC for Win32? w3seek perhaps?
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=108215

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4323
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo » Mon May 07, 2007 6:12 pm

OK, no GDB in RosBE 0.4. I talked to the devs in Chat and was pleased not to add any stuff ppl can find. If someone needs it, he has to add it by hand. I have to stay in a neutral part with my BE. There are ppl who do not use GDB, so I will not add it.

Btw, MOOOORE Suggestions. :-P

Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

AMD multicore...

Post by Jaix » Tue May 08, 2007 12:31 pm

I have a AMD 64x2 4200 and have sometimes torubble compiling ROS with the makex command I guess it has to do with the multicore, please look into this and see if we can get a more stabel product.

Actually when I think about it I have the same troubble in my 4 way server from HP running Intel xeons.

mikedep333
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 1:48 am
Location: United States

Re: AMD multicore...

Post by mikedep333 » Wed May 09, 2007 5:17 am

Jaix wrote:I have a AMD 64x2 4200 and have sometimes torubble compiling ROS with the makex command I guess it has to do with the multicore, please look into this and see if we can get a more stabel product.
Yeah, that makex bug really bothers me.

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos » Wed May 09, 2007 5:19 am

This looks like a gcc bug, or component`s, not rosbe...

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4323
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo » Wed May 09, 2007 12:27 pm

I'll take a look into it on Friday. Would bve nice if someone has time and is in Chat Friday afternoon (GMT+1)

ThePhysicist
Developer
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:46 pm

Post by ThePhysicist » Wed May 09, 2007 1:42 pm

The execution time program seems to be very limited. I sometimes get results lile
-1453.671 seconds
Would be nice if this was fixed.

Dr. Fred
Developer
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Dr. Fred » Wed May 09, 2007 11:39 pm

I think it would be cool if it would be possible to alter the font color and set whether it should create logs and show the build time.

Another idea: a easier way for make install. So that the image get mounted and unmounted automatically.
Where do you want ReactOS to go today ?

reub2000
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 5:54 pm
Location: Evanston, IL, US

Post by reub2000 » Thu May 10, 2007 4:04 am

How about a linux version of RosBE?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 12 guests