Start menu

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
shunesburg
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:46 pm
Location: Somewhere in France

Start menu

Post by shunesburg » Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:37 pm

Hi, the start menu of XP is not implemented yet, and Classic Shell has became open source, is name is now "Open Shell", why don't use the source of it too implement what is missing ?
https://github.com/Open-Shell/Open-Shell-Menu

ThFabba
Developer
Posts: 248
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:39 am

Re: Start menu

Post by ThFabba » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:12 pm

That code may be useful, but a large part of the challenge is to implement the correct COM interfaces. I don't think Classic Shell does this, so there's still some research needed.

middings
Posts: 990
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Start menu

Post by middings » Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:39 pm

Yes, the suggestion to use Classic Shell as ReactOS's GUI shell has been made many times over the years. Eventually one of the ReactOS developers (devs) points out that Classic Shell is not a replacement for Microsoft Windows's shell code. Instead, Classic Shell (and other shell modifying programs like it) rely on the shell that the OS provides to create the illusion that it is a different shell. Classic Shell can not run on ReactOS until ReactOS provides a full shell and all the necessary interfaces that every Windows OS supplies.

A search of the ReactOS forums for Classic Shell returns 106 results. I was hoping that one of the explanations from a dev could be found in the first or second page of results. I was disappointed.

dizt3mp3r
Posts: 1401
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:54 pm

Re: Start menu

Post by dizt3mp3r » Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:26 pm

middings wrote:
Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:39 pm
Yes, the suggestion to use Classic Shell as ReactOS's GUI shell has been made many times over the years. Eventually one of the ReactOS developers (devs) points out that Classic Shell is not a replacement for Microsoft Windows's shell code. Instead, Classic Shell (and other shell modifying programs like it) rely on the shell that the OS provides to create the illusion that it is a different shell. Classic Shell can not run on ReactOS until ReactOS provides a full shell and all the necessary interfaces that every Windows OS supplies.

A search of the ReactOS forums for Classic Shell returns 106 results. I was hoping that one of the explanations from a dev could be found in the first or second page of results. I was disappointed.
Why not make it a stickie or add it to an FAQ in the WIKI?

middings
Posts: 990
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Start menu

Post by middings » Sun Dec 30, 2018 3:28 am

I would add this to one of the FAQs in the ReactOS Wiki but I too am in CAPTCHA Hell.

Smiley
Developer
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:36 pm

Re: Start menu

Post by Smiley » Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:35 pm

The start menu code in windows is fairly self contained so using that won't be so hard to be honest. I also like its code quality.

shunesburg
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:46 pm
Location: Somewhere in France

Re: Start menu

Post by shunesburg » Mon Dec 31, 2018 11:18 am

middings wrote:
Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:39 pm
the shell that the OS provides to create the illusion that it is a different shell.
Are you sure?
It was create in the beginning of Windows 8 and at this moment there no shell to transform because there wasn't any shell at all (start menu was none include).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests