120 dpi not possible

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
lib2
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 1:09 pm

120 dpi not possible

Post by lib2 » Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:31 am

Hi,

I'm trying the last 0.4.10 release in a libvirt installation in Linux.
As my display is a 4K one, I've increased resolution to the maximum allowable, i.e. 2560x1600, decreased bit depth, and in advanced | General | Display, set the dpi to 120. It doesn't work as requested, nor does it after reboot.
Is this thing only a problem of my context or is it a general issue?

binarymaster
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Re: 120 dpi not possible

Post by binarymaster » Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:05 am

lib2 wrote:
Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:31 am
Hi,

I'm trying the last 0.4.10 release in a libvirt installation in Linux.
As my display is a 4K one, I've increased resolution to the maximum allowable, i.e. 2560x1600, decreased bit depth, and in advanced | General | Display, set the dpi to 120. It doesn't work as requested, nor does it after reboot.
Is this thing only a problem of my context or is it a general issue?
Known issue, keep track on CORE-12479.

The only workaround for now is to use lower screen resolution with VM screen upscaling.

lib2
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 1:09 pm

Re: 120 dpi not possible

Post by lib2 » Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:56 pm

Thank you @binarymaster

erkinalp
Posts: 809
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: 120 dpi not possible

Post by erkinalp » Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:22 pm

In addition, 120dpi is not an integer multiple of default and may cause DPI-unaware programs to look ugly.
-uses Ubuntu+GNOME 3 GNU/Linux
-likes Free (as in freedom) and Open Source Detergents
-favors open source of Windows 10 under GPL2

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4276
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: 120 dpi not possible

Post by EmuandCo » Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:24 am

Well: Windows uses these as defaults afaik:
96 = 100% DPI
120 = 125%
144 = 150%
192 = 200%
240 = 250%
288 = 300%

So it's valid, but still ROS does not really support that yet.
Image
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests