USB related problem -> Solution: Try out the vgal's build

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Tobias_B._Besemer
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:55 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

USB related problem -> Solution: Try out the vgal's build

Post by Tobias_B._Besemer »

Hi!

I tested the ReactOS v0.4.8 LiveCD on my system and it hangs.
I followed the instructions in the sticky post and made a photo of the output.

https://imgur.com/gallery/wGknkIO

Is this bug already known?
And if, can someone link me to it in the bug-tracker, that I can follow him there?

Greets, Tobias.
Last edited by Tobias_B._Besemer on Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.
We try to build a maintenance ISO based on ROS!
Check: https://www.uwbcd.org

User avatar
Tobias_B._Besemer
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:55 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by Tobias_B._Besemer »

Seems I get the same eroor-msg when I try to run ReactOS in a VirtualBox VM...

https://imgur.com/a/CcLzKmG

Installation worked, but start don't work.
We try to build a maintenance ISO based on ROS!
Check: https://www.uwbcd.org

User avatar
cernodile
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 7:01 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by cernodile »

This is USB related problem. Try out the vgal's build (should be somewhere around the forums!)

As for developers reading this; I've transcribed a text version of the bt output:

IMAGE #1 (https://imgur.com/gallery/wGknkIO)

Code: Select all

kdb:> bt
Eip:
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:14c0b5 (:0 (RtlpBreakWithStatusInstruction))>
Frames:
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:87edd (ntoskrnl/ke/bug.c:1100 (KeBugCheckWithTf))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:884ed (ntoskrnl/ke/bug.c:1472 (KeBugCheck))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:178f0d (ntoskrnl/ex/init.c:1801 (Phase1InitializationDiscard))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:34b9a (ntoskrnl/ex/init.c:2015 (Phase1Initialization))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:115384 (ntoskrnl/ps/thread.c:156 (PspSystemThreadStartup))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:12c6c9 (ntoskrnl/ke/i386/thrdini.c:78 (KiThreadStartup))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:11534b (ntoskrnl/ps/state.c:565 (NtQueueApcThread))>
<5d8950ec>
Couldn't access memory at 0x83E58959!
kdb:>
IMAGE #2 (https://imgur.com/a/CcLzKmG)

Code: Select all

kdb:> bt
Eip:
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:14c0b5 (:0 (RtlpBreakWithStatusInstruction))>
Frames:
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:87edd (ntoskrnl/ke/bug.c:1100 (KeBugCheckWithTf))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:884b4 (ntoskrnl/ke/bug.c:1456 (KeBugCheckEx))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:33722 (ntoskrnl/ex/harderr.c:78 (ExpSystemErrorHandler))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:337e7 (ntoskrnl/ex/harderr.c:154 (ExpRaiseHardError))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:33ae3 (ntoskrnl/ex/harderr.c:455 (ExRaiseHardError))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:33d5b (ntoskrnl/ex/harderr.c:648 (NtRaiseHardError))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:25ba1 (ntoskrnl/config/cmsysini.c:1316 (CmpLoadHiveThread))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:115384 (ntoskrnl/ps/thread.c:156 (PspSystemThreadStartup))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:12c6c9 (ntoskrnl/ke/i386/thrdini.c:78 (KiThreadStartup))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:11534b (ntoskrnl/ps/state.c:565 (NtQueueApcThread))>
<5d8950ec>
<00000000>
kdb:>
Please note there may be some imperfections, I tried my best transcribing in hopes it'd be any use to developers.
My working rigs:
Dell Latitude E5430 on 0.4.9-vgal - i5-3340M, USB boot.
Partially working rigs:
Ryzen 7 3700X on B450 board - 0.4.14 boot via preinstall. USB broken.
[ external image ]

ScriptTiger
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:50 am
Location: Citizen of the World
Contact:

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by ScriptTiger »


User avatar
Tobias_B._Besemer
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:55 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by Tobias_B._Besemer »

OK, I tried the vgal's build and at least (what I have tested so far) the LiveCD boots in a VirtualBox VM. :-)
What are the plans for this vgal's builds?
Gets it integrated into the official builds?
When will this happen? (Plz, no answer like: 'When it's ready!' ^^)
Is there a bug in the bug tracker I can follow?
We try to build a maintenance ISO based on ROS!
Check: https://www.uwbcd.org

whatevar
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 9:31 pm

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by whatevar »

I think as soon as the MemoryManager and Kernel itself are ready enough to integrate the new USB drivers (which the team already brought to a running state) in a clean manner. And not hackfixing everything just to get it working (and becoming desperate as such things grow to be unmaintainable monsters)..
Errors found can be safely donated to greenpeace. If u should find money, better donate it to ReactOS.

User avatar
Tobias_B._Besemer
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:55 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by Tobias_B._Besemer »

I played a bit around with ReactOS and run into some more errors...

https://imgur.com/a/ksn9TVe

Are this the same bug, or something else about hardware support?
We try to build a maintenance ISO based on ROS!
Check: https://www.uwbcd.org

middings
Posts: 1028
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by middings »


User avatar
Tobias_B._Besemer
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:55 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by Tobias_B._Besemer »

As long I don't know which part of my hardware cause the prob, it's 'my hardware'...
middings wrote:How to Report Bugs Effectively by Simon Tatham
I don't wanna spam the bug-tracker with a bug like this...
The forum is there to help me to figure out whats 'the bug' is, right?
Also: I read the sticky postings about what I should do in this forum.
We try to build a maintenance ISO based on ROS!
Check: https://www.uwbcd.org

middings
Posts: 1028
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by middings »

By definition, all topics here that start with some form of "ReactOS doesn't work..." are informal bug reports.

Every time you raise a new issue, please describe your hardware. If you described your hardware in an earlier post and it has not changed since, you may link to that earlier post. You may know that your hardware has not changed since you last reported a problem but we do not. We may not even know or remember that you described your hardware in detail earlier.

Because you are posting here in the ReactOS forum, you need not mention ReactOS in the title of your new topic. But do mention the release or build and the affected hardware or application. Here are examples of topic names that are more useful than "ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware":
  • Whammo 16GB i-9 motherboard won't boot 0.4.8
  • Games Of War won't install on ab123cd4
  • Yoyodyne PCI RS-232 adapter not seen by 0.4.9-RC99
Last edited by middings on Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:20 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Tobias_B._Besemer
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:55 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by Tobias_B._Besemer »

OK, I will do this next time!
We try to build a maintenance ISO based on ROS!
Check: https://www.uwbcd.org

jimtabor
Developer
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by jimtabor »

Another test one could try, boot XP install CD.... If it works then okay, ReactOS should boot up. If not, that's a whole different issue.

User avatar
Tobias_B._Besemer
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:55 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Post by Tobias_B._Besemer »

I work ATM with the VGal-Builds in a VirtualBox-VM - that works!
New, up-to-date, normal builds don't work on my machine...
We try to build a maintenance ISO based on ROS!
Check: https://www.uwbcd.org

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests