cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

ThFabba
Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:39 am

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by ThFabba »

If I'm supposed to keep following, you're going to have to not make me skip over 2 pages of unrelated stuff every day.

Looking at the messages that are just scrolling by will indeed not be particularly helpful. From your earlier messages it sounded like the LiveCD also failed to boot, so I hoped we would see it crash/hang. If the LiveCD boots successfully, we'll have to investigate using the BootCD.
The following patch enables screen debugging:

Code: Select all

--- a/boot/bootdata/txtsetup.sif
+++ b/boot/bootdata/txtsetup.sif
@@ -132,7 +132,7 @@ Cabinet=reactos.cab
 [SetupData]
 DefaultPath = \ReactOS
 OsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /NODEBUG"
-DbgOsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /KDSERIAL /DEBUGPORT=COM1 /FIRSTCHANCE"
+DbgOsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /DEBUG /DEBUGPORT=SCREEN /FIRSTCHANCE"
 ;DbgOsLoadOptions = "/SOS /DEBUGPORT=SCREEN"
 ;DbgOsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /DEBUGPORT=BOCHS"
I've built an iso with that change and put it at https://tfaber.net/bootcd-screendbg.7z
Perhaps that will show something new.
phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

ThFabba wrote:If I'm supposed to keep following, you're going to have to not make me skip over 2 pages of unrelated stuff every day.

Looking at the messages that are just scrolling by will indeed not be particularly helpful. From your earlier messages it sounded like the LiveCD also failed to boot, so I hoped we would see it crash/hang. If the LiveCD boots successfully, we'll have to investigate using the BootCD.
The following patch enables screen debugging:

Code: Select all

--- a/boot/bootdata/txtsetup.sif
+++ b/boot/bootdata/txtsetup.sif
@@ -132,7 +132,7 @@ Cabinet=reactos.cab
 [SetupData]
 DefaultPath = \ReactOS
 OsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /NODEBUG"
-DbgOsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /KDSERIAL /DEBUGPORT=COM1 /FIRSTCHANCE"
+DbgOsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /DEBUG /DEBUGPORT=SCREEN /FIRSTCHANCE"
 ;DbgOsLoadOptions = "/SOS /DEBUGPORT=SCREEN"
 ;DbgOsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /DEBUGPORT=BOCHS"
I've built an iso with that change and put it at https://tfaber.net/bootcd-screendbg.7z
Perhaps that will show something new.
Hi !
Thanks for your help, I will test asap :)
Yes, the live CD failed too, EXCEPT wen I enabled VGA mode OR when I chose the "screen" option
User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by mrmajik45 »

ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC
User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by mrmajik45 »

His pc is XGA is that a problem?
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC
phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

ThFabba wrote:If I'm supposed to keep following, you're going to have to not make me skip over 2 pages of unrelated stuff every day.

Looking at the messages that are just scrolling by will indeed not be particularly helpful. From your earlier messages it sounded like the LiveCD also failed to boot, so I hoped we would see it crash/hang. If the LiveCD boots successfully, we'll have to investigate using the BootCD.
The following patch enables screen debugging:

Code: Select all

--- a/boot/bootdata/txtsetup.sif
+++ b/boot/bootdata/txtsetup.sif
@@ -132,7 +132,7 @@ Cabinet=reactos.cab
 [SetupData]
 DefaultPath = \ReactOS
 OsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /NODEBUG"
-DbgOsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /KDSERIAL /DEBUGPORT=COM1 /FIRSTCHANCE"
+DbgOsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /DEBUG /DEBUGPORT=SCREEN /FIRSTCHANCE"
 ;DbgOsLoadOptions = "/SOS /DEBUGPORT=SCREEN"
 ;DbgOsLoadOptions = "/NOGUIBOOT /DEBUGPORT=BOCHS"
I've built an iso with that change and put it at https://tfaber.net/bootcd-screendbg.7z
Perhaps that will show something new.
Right, I tried the iso and the process showed lots of lines of code ; it ends with "kdb: >" and that's all, nothing happens after that ; should I film the whole process like last time and post the video ?
User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by mrmajik45 »

Yes because if it goes to KDB then it had a error. So give us a vid and we can look for the error.

As error I mean "Help I've fallen and can't get up"
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC
phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

Right, it's uploading on youtube ;)

[edit] here it is : https://youtu.be/8k5wtvH1sJg
oldman
Posts: 1179
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:23 pm

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by oldman »

phoenix63 wrote: Right, I tried the iso and the process showed lots of lines of code ; it ends with "kdb: >" and that's all, nothing happens after that ; should I film the whole process like last time and post the video ?
Can you take a photo of the screen when it reaches the kdb> prompt. When you have taken the photo, type bt and then press the Enter key; if possible, video it and when it stops again take another photo.

The bt command will give developers more info. bt stands for back trace.

Then you will have to wait for ThFabba or you could join the irc from the front page and try contacting him there.
Please keep the Windows classic 9x/2000 look and feel.
The layman's guides - debugging - bug reporting - compiling - ISO remaster.
They may help you with a problem, so do have a look at them.
phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

pic before back trace : [ external image ]
video of back trace : https://youtu.be/DNaH--BHE-c
pic after back trace : [ external image ]
oldman
Posts: 1179
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:23 pm

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by oldman »

Very good so far, but some info as been lost. I see that you have been presented with the option press q to abort, any other key to continue.

To get maximum debug output, you needed to take a photo when it stopped at that option, then take another photo when it stopped at the kdb> prompt.

If it is not too much trouble (for the sake of a full debug output), could you do another run and every time it stops take a photo.

Some times that option appears several times; I believe I have seen it happen as much as 3 times in the past.

I find the photos are easy to see the text, but the video is a little blurred.

I hope they fix the bug for you and for everyone else.
Please keep the Windows classic 9x/2000 look and feel.
The layman's guides - debugging - bug reporting - compiling - ISO remaster.
They may help you with a problem, so do have a look at them.
phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

OK I'll do that, but just for info, when I got the "press q to abort, any other key to continue." message, nothing else was shown ; then I pressed a key to continue and I code the lines you can see till the kdb> prompt. Si I don't think any info was lost.
The process stopped only once, when I got the "press q to abort, any other key to continue." message.
Sorry about the video, I'm not a marksman, which is annoying really since I have quite a good camera (filmed in 1080p too) It looked OK on my side but I agree it could be better.
User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by mrmajik45 »

Can you type

Code: Select all

cont
in KDB it maybe able to get past the error. If it doesn't then well that was a try. and you should take a pic before you pressed enter on the continue message because some data was cut off.

cont is short for continue. So when you type cont it will try to continue to run
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC
phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

mrmajik45 wrote:Can you type

Code: Select all

cont
in KDB it maybe able to get past the error. If it doesn't then well that was a try. and you should take a pic before you pressed enter on the continue message because some data was cut off.

cont is short for continue. So when you type cont it will try to continue to run
I assure you no data was cut off ;) After the message "press q to abort, any other key to continue.", there was absolutely no data written ; the rest appeared after I hit a key ;)
But as I said, I'll do it again, promise :)

Now, I have a question about your request : when should I type

Code: Select all

cont
? Behind the kdb: > prompt ?
Thanks
ThFabba
Developer
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:39 am

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by ThFabba »

The "missing" data we're looking for is everything between "kdb:> bt" and "<usbuhci.sys:6344>". The "Press q to abort" should interrupt printing at just the right point to be able to see those lines.
Thanks.

From the data that is visible so far:

Code: Select all

sdk/lib/drivers/libusb/hub_controller.cpp:4002 (StatusChangeEndpointCallBack)
drivers/usb/usbuhci/hardware.cpp:1493 (StatusChangeWorkItemRoutine)
drivers/usb/usbuhci/hardware.cpp:1461 (TimerDpcRoutine)
... it looks like it's breaking somewhere inside the DPRINT1... odd.
phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

ThFabba wrote:The "missing" data we're looking for is everything between "kdb:> bt" and "<usbuhci.sys:6344>". The "Press q to abort" should interrupt printing at just the right point to be able to see those lines.
Thanks.

From the data that is visible so far:

Code: Select all

sdk/lib/drivers/libusb/hub_controller.cpp:4002 (StatusChangeEndpointCallBack)
drivers/usb/usbuhci/hardware.cpp:1493 (StatusChangeWorkItemRoutine)
drivers/usb/usbuhci/hardware.cpp:1461 (TimerDpcRoutine)
... it looks like it's breaking somewhere inside the DPRINT1... odd.
Oh right, it's clear now : it's the "q" key I have to tap (when I'm asked to) to be able to make appear what looks missing AT THE BEGINNING of the back trace ? I did notice that the proicess started very quickly and that the beginning looked odd...
I'll do that then ;)
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests