ReactOS SVN server down?

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
middings
Posts: 1073
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by middings »

Is the ReactOS SVN server down? I get this message when trying to update my local SVN repository.

Code: Select all

>ssvn update
The selected branch does not exist or the Internet Connection is down.
Environment: RosBE 2.1.3 on Windows XP Home Edition SP3.
Pi_User5
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 4:18 am
Location: United States

Re: ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by Pi_User5 »

middings wrote:Is the ReactOS SVN server down? I get this message when trying to update my local SVN repository.

Code: Select all

>ssvn update
The selected branch does not exist or the Internet Connection is down.
Environment: RosBE 2.1.3 on Windows XP Home Edition SP3.
I'm also seeing this. However, I can update it from Tortoise SVN. Might be an issue with RosBE?
I use ReactOS on real hardware. Will you? My Computers: https://www.reactos.org/wiki/PC_ROS_Rigs Go all the way to the bottom.

[ external image ]
Heis Spiter
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 11:39 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by Heis Spiter »

Check whether you're trying to update over HTTP. If so, move to HTTPS.
Pierre Schweitzer (aka Heis Spiter)
ReactOS kernel developer.
ReactOS systems administrator.
middings
Posts: 1073
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by middings »

Heis Spiter wrote:Check whether you're trying to update over HTTP. If so, move to HTTPS.
Thank your for your suggestion, Heis Spiter. Unfortunately, I do not know how to change that for RosBE and my guesses did not work. I looked for an appropriate setting using RosBE's options command. I also right-clicked the icon in RosBE's caption bar (sometimes this is called the window's title bar). I tried changing http to https in RosBE's update.cmd and sSVN.cmd files. (I use the Command Prompt version of RosBE.) That had no effect.

I re-installed RosBE 2.1.3 from a new copy of the file RosBE-2.1.3.exe obtained from SourceForge. No good.

I notice that RosBE has recently begun to start with these messages and tells me that RosBE is outdated:

Code: Select all

*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        ReactOS Build Environment 2.1.3                      *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************

RosBE is outdated. Installed version: 2.1.3 Recent version: .

For a list of all included commands, type: "help"
-------------------------------------------------


>
"Recent version: . "
Maybe that is a clue.

Running RosBE's update command reports Update finished. I exit RosBE and restart RosBE and the same messages appear. The ssvn status command continues to return The selected branch does not exist or the Internet Connection is down.

I am still puzzled.
Bassa31
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:47 pm

Re: ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by Bassa31 »

When RosBe doesn t find the update file in svn (because now it s https), RosBE says "RosBE is outdate". You has the lastest version. https://svn.reactos.org/downloads/rosbe/ver.txt

You can change the url update in sSvn.cmd with notepad.
Cheers.
middings
Posts: 1073
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by middings »

Thank you, Bassa31, for your suggestion. I made your suggested change to RosBE's files sSVN.cmd and update.cmd. Now the Update Server is identified as https://svn.reactos.org/downloads/rosbe.

Unfortunately, that did not solve the RosBE's problem I am having.
User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4730
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by EmuandCo »

Hm, interesting...

Code: Select all

    if not exist "tmp" mkdir tmp 1> NUL 2> NUL
    cd tmp
    if not exist "ver.txt" (
        wget.exe -N --ignore-length --no-verbose %_ROSBE_URL%/ver.txt 1> NUL 2> NUL
        if exist "ver.txt" (
            for /F %%i in (ver.txt) do set _ROSBE_NEWVER=%%i
        )
        if not "!_ROSBE_NEWVER!" == "!_ROSBE_VERSION!" (
            echo RosBE is outdated. Installed version: !_ROSBE_VERSION! Recent version: !_ROSBE_NEWVER!.
        ) else (
            echo RosBE is up to Date.
        )
    )
    cd..
    del /F /Q tmp\*.* 1> NUL 2> NUL
wget could be a problem on XP maybe... Or something with the access rights to the tmp folder is not fine.
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

If my post/reply offends or insults you, be sure that you know what sarcasm is...
hbelusca
Developer
Posts: 1204
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by hbelusca »

EmuandCo wrote:Hm, interesting...
Daniel, I've one suggestion for sSVN.cmd in RosBE:

Code: Select all

set ROS_SVNURL=http://svn.reactos.org/reactos
You should update that to either https:// etc..., or directly use the svn:// server.
Second remark, David made me notice yesterday that normally this variable is not used by svn server when doing the update (because doing directly: "svn update" works), but is used by the script when doing: "ssvn update". Indeed, when one updates using the cmd script, the code goes into the label ":UP" and then runs the following:

Code: Select all

:UP
    for /f "usebackq tokens=4" %%i in (`""%_ROSBE_BASEDIR%\bin\svn.exe" info | find "Last Changed Rev:""`) do set OFFSVN=%%i
    for /f "usebackq tokens=4" %%j in (`""%_ROSBE_BASEDIR%\bin\svn.exe" info %ROS_SVNURL%%rsubfolder% | find "Last Changed Rev:""`) do set ONSVN=%%j
etc..., i.e. it runs unconditionally "svn info %ROS_SVNURL%" with the wrong value.
Harteex
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 9:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by Harteex »

Not sure if it's related but I couldn't connect to http / https last I tried, I just got an infinite redirection. Using svn:// worked.
middings
Posts: 1073
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by middings »

The last time RosBE worked properly for me was when I updated my local repository to revision 70762 on Sunday, 21 February, 2016 (Pacific Time).

I changed line 17 in sSVN.exe to
set ROS_SVNURL=https://svn.reactos.org/reactos
yet when I run the RosBE command
ssvn status
this message is returned:
The selected branch does not exist or the Internet Connection is down.

I also tried changing line 17 to
set ROS_SVNURL=svn://svn.reactos.org/reactos
and I get the same failure.

I have reported this in JIRA. See ROSBE-84.
User avatar
leecher
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by leecher »

I worked around this issue by adding --no-check-certificate to the wget calls in sSvn.cmd
middings
Posts: 1073
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: ReactOS SVN server down?

Post by middings »

Thank you, leecher, for your interest in this problem. It has already been reported in ReactOS's JIRA bug reporting system as bug ROSBE-84.

In February, Ricardo Hanke suggested the workaround you proposed in a comment to ROSBE-84.

Later, Daniel Reimer produced a set of updated RosBE tools and then a test version of the RosBE installer. I downloaded and ran Daniel Reimer's latest version of a test installer for his modified RosBE. I have been using it and so far I have encountered one bug but the workaround is easy: Keep Calm, Choose "Don't Send" and Carry On.

I am looking forward to a complete fix for this problem.

Any more ideas about this bug should be added as a comment to bug report ROSBE-84. Avoid repeating ideas already mentioned by other commenters by reviewing the comments already made before adding a new comment. Log in to JIRA using the same log in credentials used to access this ReactOS Forum.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], MadWolf and 20 guests