Wanting to build some programs :)

All development related issues welcome

Moderator: Moderator Team

TheHaiden

Wanting to build some programs :)

Post by TheHaiden »

Let me introduce myself first. I've been programming in C++ for over 2 years at a slow pace. I know a bit of Assembly, as well as PHP, Java, Delphi and C#. Right now I just started to learn IOCP as well as driver development. However, I feel I do not have enough knowledge to actually help with the OS's internal workings, and outer such as drivers, networking, etc. without asking for help left and right ha ha.

So let's get down to it. I've been creeping the forum and wiki for some time now, thinking if I have enough time and knowledge to actually help this fantastic piece of art you guys/gal's have been working on. I have a few questions I need to ask, though some may have been posted in the wiki already, but I can no longer find it.

1) I know C is more encouraged to use, but is it acceptable to use C++ for programs?

2) Do I need to follow any specific notation or spacing when developing programs for ReactOS? Seeing as I've used Hungarian Notation, to an extent, for over a year, it'll be quite difficult for me to switch. :P

3) Are there any programs/utilities that are needed, but yet to have been developed? (E.G; updater, browser, IDE, etc..)

Thank you in advanced. And I apologize if these questions has been stated and answered before.

TheHaiden

Re: Wanting to build some programs :)

Post by TheHaiden »

Sorry for posting again, I could not find the edit button. (Is there one? o.o)

For my 3rd question, I spotted this on the FAQ
Q11 Witch software/apps is do ReactOS needs on to be a completed OS like Windows XP?

E.g ReactOS web browser, email client, msn messenger client, ReactOS software updates, system restore, easy error report software tools to bugzilla.
I do not quite understand this, is it stating that these are the programs that would like to be built?

--