Layered Windows

All development related issues welcome

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
andrewweb
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 3:59 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Layered Windows

Post by andrewweb » Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:35 am

OK, I asked about this on IRC but it was suggested I ask on the forums.
I am currently implementing the Windows Gadget Platform (Introduced in Windows 7, basically the same as Vista's Sidebar, but gadgets are free-floating) for ReactOS.
This will require layered windows, and so I need to ask this:
How does ReactOS react when an app uses layered windows at the moment?
Does the window fail to create, or is it just treated as if it were a normal window?
The reason I ask is because I would rather not hack it to use regular windows, but if I have to I will.

Smiley
Developer
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:36 pm

Re: Layered Windows

Post by Smiley » Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:28 am

andrewweb wrote:OK, I asked about this on IRC but it was suggested I ask on the forums.
I am currently implementing the Windows Gadget Platform (Introduced in Windows 7, basically the same as Vista's Sidebar, but gadgets are free-floating) for ReactOS.
This will require layered windows, and so I need to ask this:
How does ReactOS react when an app uses layered windows at the moment?
Does the window fail to create, or is it just treated as if it were a normal window?
The reason I ask is because I would rather not hack it to use regular windows, but if I have to I will.
Layered windows support is completely unimplemented. That means that you will successfully create a window, but you can't convert it to a layered window. All painting will go on th classical way as long as layered windows are unimplemented.

Perhaps you can make your program test if layered windows are supported and when not, just make all windows of your program to not use any transparency

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Layered Windows

Post by vicmarcal » Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:48 pm

Currently just Arwinss is able to paint Layered windows.
Image

andrewweb
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 3:59 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Layered Windows

Post by andrewweb » Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:24 am

vicmarcal wrote:Currently just Arwinss is able to paint Layered windows.
Thanks.
This further proves fireball's theory: Arwinss is the future!

steveh
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 10:02 pm

Re: Layered Windows

Post by steveh » Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:25 pm

Maybe, you consider me a newbie for the question, but:
what is "layered windows" functionality?


Smiley
Developer
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:36 pm

Re: Layered Windows

Post by Smiley » Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:08 pm

andrewweb wrote:
vicmarcal wrote:Currently just Arwinss is able to paint Layered windows.
Thanks.
This further proves fireball's theory: Arwinss is the future!
Are you sure? Layered windows are HACKED to work in wine ( no real support ) and still completely unimplemetned in arwinss

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Layered Windows

Post by vicmarcal » Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:27 am

Oh...i thought Arwinss was able to paint layered windows :(
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests