How to make qemu .img (disk image) files ??

All development related issues welcome

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
azeemarif
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 8:53 am

How to make qemu .img (disk image) files ??

Post by azeemarif »

Hello,

I have compiled ReactOS and the output is ReactOS.iso (after "make bootcd") ....

I want to use qemu (the free emulator) to install this newly built reactos.

how do I make qemu disk image?

I tried to boot qemu directly from is iso image

qemu.exe -L . -hda c.img -pci -cdrom "path\to\reactos.iso" -boot d

but the booting process fails (saying "A bug found")

If there is some information available on this, please guide me to that.

Thanks
ConMan
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 7:37 am

Post by ConMan »

I actually was doing this very thing last night. How to make an image and run qemu with what parameters can all be found in the qemu readme
azeemarif
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 8:53 am

Post by azeemarif »

I think something else is wrong here.

I followed the steps written below

1) compiled ReactOs and copied the output "ReactOS.iso" to the qemu installation folder
2) created a disk image using command
"qemu-img create c.img 100M"
3) Started qemu unsing the command
"qemu -L . -m 128 -boot d -hda c.img -cdrom ReactOS.iso"

Atre this qemu starts and boots from CD. ReactOS initialization starts.

But then a blue screen appreas saying
"Bug Detected (code 7b param 0 0 0 0)"
"INACCESIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE"
GvG
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by GvG »

Wrong binutils version. Use 2.15.90 (available from our SourceForge download page) instead of 2.15.91
reub2000
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 5:54 pm
Location: Evanston, IL, US

Post by reub2000 »

azeemarif wrote:I think something else is wrong here.

I followed the steps written below

1) compiled ReactOs and copied the output "ReactOS.iso" to the qemu installation folder
2) created a disk image using command
"qemu-img create c.img 100M"
3) Started qemu unsing the command
"qemu -L . -m 128 -boot d -hda c.img -cdrom ReactOS.iso"

Atre this qemu starts and boots from CD. ReactOS initialization starts.

But then a blue screen appreas saying
"Bug Detected (code 7b param 0 0 0 0)"
"INACCESIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE"
I'm trying that, except with a stock reactos iso image, and all I'm getting is a black screen. I'd wish they'd create qemu preloaded with reactos for linux in addition to windows.
ckraju
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:05 am

Using QEMU

Post by ckraju »

These steps would suffice.

qemuimage$ qemu-img create reactos.img 400M
qemuimage$ qemu -cdrom ReactOS.iso -hda reactos.img -boot d
qemuimage$ qemu reactos.img

Cheers...
CK Raju
Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos »

@azeemarif

When compiling ROS, be sure to use the latest official RosBE version, so you can avoid many errors.

If anyone needs an empty image its quite easy to create one using win32 qemu manager. I can mail it to you (just dont post your mails here, use pm). If you keep the copy, you can use it over and over. It also works with Vmware...
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests