Virus Thread

All development related issues welcome

Moderator: Moderator Team

Should REACTOS be JUST a Windows Clone or an Amplified and modified Operating System, capable of Handling Windows software?

Poll ended at Fri Jul 21, 2006 1:36 am

1. Yes
17%
2. No
25%
3. I dunno......
58%

Total votes: 12

pratik_mullick

Virus Thread

Post by pratik_mullick »

Hello people! I dont want to scare anybody into thinking that the site has a virus....... but i am asking that since REACTOS is in developement stage, I would like to see it not having the problems of dealing with security threats, the same problem the guys in MS (guess?) faced, as a result, SP1 and later SP2 were released. Since the goal of REACTOS is to implement Windows programs, not a Windows clone! Im no techie, but i guess that after using both Windows XP Home and SuSE Linux, i feel it safer to browse the net using Linux. Since linux is under GPL, couldnt you guys add some Linux code into REACTOS, to make it less prone to viruses, and spyware and adware?
frik85
Developer

Re: Virus Thread

Post by frik85 »

The ReactOS® project is dedicated to making Free Software available to everyone by providing a ground-up implementation of a Microsoft Windows® XP compatible operating system. ReactOS aims to achieve complete binary compatibility with both applications and device drivers meant for NT and XP operating systems, by using a similar architecture and providing a complete and equivalent public interface.

Although Free Software advocates agree that free software operating systems improve the state of the art by fostering competition, ReactOS has practical benefit for others, too; ReactOS is the most complete working model of a Windows® like operating system available. Consequently, working programmers will learn a great deal by studying ReactOS source code and even participating in ReactOS development.