Just a quick question

All development related issues welcome

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
ctasan
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:02 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Just a quick question

Post by ctasan » Tue Oct 07, 2014 6:14 pm

How can I get debug log from Virtual PC 2004?

Don't say me changing virtual machine software, I have to use it because I'm on an older PC.

erkinalp
Posts: 848
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: Just a quick question

Post by erkinalp » Tue Oct 07, 2014 6:19 pm

Mr. Taşan, try QEmu. It works even faster than VPC.
-uses Ubuntu+GNOME 3 GNU/Linux
-likes Free (as in freedom) and Open Source Detergents
-favors open source of Windows 10 under GPL2

ctasan
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:02 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Re: Just a quick question

Post by ctasan » Tue Oct 07, 2014 6:25 pm

I couldn't get used to using QEMU, also I want to use GUI application.

However I should solve it's logic (but not this time) :-)

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question

Post by Z98 » Tue Oct 07, 2014 6:54 pm

Use vmware player or virtualbox then if you want a gui.

ctasan
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:02 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Re: Just a quick question

Post by ctasan » Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:09 pm

I have to work an older PC, that's the problem. The best solution is VPC 2004, however if you want to know for recommendation here is my specs:

Windows XP MCE 2004 (with SP3) on 1.60 GHz plus 768 MB RAM. My PC doesn't work fast so I don't want to use software that eats too much resource.

hbelusca
Developer
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Just a quick question

Post by hbelusca » Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:22 pm

So..... answering to the *REAL* question instead of answering for something else....

Supposing that VPC 2004 has almost the same functionalities as VPC 2007 (because it's the one I know), you can add a virtual COM port to your VM (via the VM properties dialog). Then, either you already have something like "com0com" (see here for more info: http://www.reactos.org/wiki/Com0com ) that creates on your (host) PC a couple of virtual COM ports, and in this case you create 1 pair of ports, and you proceed similarly to what it is indicated for VirtualBox (here: http://www.reactos.org/wiki/VirtualBox# ... bug_output ), or, you redirect the VM virtual COM port to a pipe. I suggest you (since it appears you are on windows) to use PUTTY to grab the debug log. You can configure it to read data from a COM port, or to read pipes...

eersoy93
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:24 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question

Post by eersoy93 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 6:52 pm

ctasan wrote:I have to work an older PC, that's the problem. The best solution is VPC 2004, however if you want to know for recommendation here is my specs:

Windows XP MCE 2004 (with SP3) on 1.60 GHz plus 768 MB RAM. My PC doesn't work fast so I don't want to use software that eats too much resource.
Use enough virtual memory or Linux. Debian Wheezy may appropriate alternative.
Turkish translator of ReactOS.

fred02
Posts: 551
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: Just a quick question

Post by fred02 » Thu Oct 09, 2014 2:26 pm

ctasan wrote:I have to work an older PC, that's the problem. The best solution is VPC 2004, however if you want to know for recommendation here is my specs:

Windows XP MCE 2004 (with SP3) on 1.60 GHz plus 768 MB RAM. My PC doesn't work fast so I don't want to use software that eats too much resource.
You can try to use ROS on real hardware then. :) You will need a null-modem cable for debugging though. :geek:

MadWolf
Posts: 540
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question

Post by MadWolf » Tue Oct 14, 2014 3:37 am

hi
to debug reactos on Virtual PC 2004 you will need Com0Com
install com0com
Next, run the com0com command shell and type
install PortName=COM4 PortName=COM5
open Virtual PC 2004 then select the VM then press the setting button scroll down to COM1 and check the check the box next to physical serial port and select COM4 then OK + OK now open putty check the box next to serial in the serial line box enter COM5 next go to logging tab and check box next to all session output then go back to the session tab and select default settings and press the save button then open download a daily build dbg or dbgwin and mount the iso and install

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests