A new coder

All development related issues welcome

Moderator: Moderator Team

CodeVisio
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:36 am

Re: A new coder

Post by CodeVisio »

this is what I thought in a first instance, indeed I ignored it and ran nmake but at 14% of compilation
I got this linker error:
[ external image ]

(I hope the screenshot is visible, if not then how can I attach it? :) )

So at that point I thought the two issues were related.

Any idea?

Thanks

FlyingIsFun1217
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:56 am

Re: A new coder

Post by FlyingIsFun1217 »

CodeVisio wrote: (I hope the screenshot is visible, if not then how can I attach it? :) )
It isn't. You'll have to upload the image to an online file or image host, such as TinyPic or ImageShack, then link to the image file there in your post (instead of C:\...)

FlyingIsFun1217

CodeVisio
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:36 am

Re: A new coder

Post by CodeVisio »

here you are

[ external image ]

CodeVisio
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:36 am

Re: A new coder

Post by CodeVisio »

@vimarcal,

Running configure.cmd under RosBE environment will create only the output folder relative to MingW and not for VS or WDDK(even if you speciify the parameter VSSolution).
I'm not accustomed to the content of configure.cmd but if you look at it you will discover that it performs some sort of check of the
environment where it was launched.

Try it.
Thanks

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: A new coder

Post by Haos »

Configure script will detect the environment its executed in. If you run it from ROSBE, it will detect MinGW, if you run it from MS compiler commandline, it should detect that env.

BrentNewland
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:32 am

Re: A new coder

Post by BrentNewland »

I have a suggestion for you:

Please document everything you can on the Wiki. When you start off fresh, you can easily make a step by step tutorial on how to do everything you've learned, bu as time goes on, you take certain knowledge for granted that a brand new developer might not know.

http://www.reactos.org/wiki/Special:Categories
http://www.reactos.org/wiki/Special:UncategorizedPages
http://www.reactos.org/wiki/Category:Tutorial

Specifically any tutorials for how to get the build environment set up and build ReactOS (step by step with pics would be awesome, you could even put it together in a word document or something and I'll do it for you).

CodeVisio
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:36 am

Re: A new coder

Post by CodeVisio »

Hi,

a new question on the fly:

I'm doing some test on notepad just to have some confidence with the compilation and testing of ros. I've added two files (.h and .c) to the notepad project. I guess I have to 'refresh' the makefile in order to the compiler to see the new files.
Is there a way to do that via cmake? Or do I have to recreate the output folder?

Thanks

CodeVisio
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:36 am

Re: A new coder

Post by CodeVisio »

discard my previous post.

You can that in this way:
- edit the CMakeLists.txt file inside the project folder.
- modify the "list(..)" directive as you need.
- modify the library list as you need
- save and exit
- when you will launch the make [ProjectName], cmake will do the update.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest