A Request for Turkish Translation

Discuss translation of both ReactOS and the website here.

Moderators: Moderator Team, Web Team

Webunny
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:30 pm

Re:

Post by Webunny » Sun Jan 12, 2014 3:40 pm

Is there an oversight somewhere z98, where I can see at a glance which pages I've set for review and which not?

I think I've got all/most of them, but...


Well, anyway, I've pretty much finished with the Dutch translation, me thinks.

erkinalp
Posts: 843
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: A Request for Turkish Translation

Post by erkinalp » Sun Jan 12, 2014 8:28 pm

EmuandCo wrote:According to MS's Language Identifier List it's non existant and thus won't be added.
Why? A lot of FOSS projects have translations to officially unrecognized and/or artificial languages. MS works with US government in some areas and therefore cannot add some languages.
Microsoft itself wrote:A user-defined primary language identifier has a value in the range 0x0200 to 0x03ff. All other values are reserved for operating system use.
A user-defined sublanguage identifier has a value in the range 0x20 to 0x3f. All other values are reserved for operating system use.
-uses Ubuntu+GNOME 3 GNU/Linux
-likes Free (as in freedom) and Open Source Detergents
-favors open source of Windows 10 under GPL2

eersoy93
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:24 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: A Request for Turkish Translation

Post by eersoy93 » Mon Mar 10, 2014 7:00 am

erkinalp wrote:
EmuandCo wrote:According to MS's Language Identifier List it's non existant and thus won't be added.
Why? A lot of FOSS projects have translations to officially unrecognized and/or artificial languages. MS works with US government in some areas and therefore cannot add some languages.
Microsoft itself wrote:A user-defined primary language identifier has a value in the range 0x0200 to 0x03ff. All other values are reserved for operating system use.
A user-defined sublanguage identifier has a value in the range 0x20 to 0x3f. All other values are reserved for operating system use.
At that case, can you add "Pure" sublang to Turkish language?
Turkish translator of ReactOS.

eersoy93
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:24 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: A Request for Turkish Translation

Post by eersoy93 » Tue Apr 08, 2014 5:07 pm

At that case, can you add "Pure" sublang to Turkish language? I couldn't get answer for 1 month!
Turkish translator of ReactOS.

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: A Request for Turkish Translation

Post by Z98 » Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:55 am

Adding a language code unilaterally risks breaking compatibility if something officially gets assigned that code. At this point we're not prepared to make that kind of commitment.

eersoy93
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:24 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: A Request for Turkish Translation

Post by eersoy93 » Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:04 am

Thanks for answer.

At that case, can I use pure Turkish (Öz Türkçe) when I translate?
Turkish translator of ReactOS.

erkinalp
Posts: 843
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: A Request for Turkish Translation

Post by erkinalp » Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:18 am

Adding a language code unilaterally risks breaking compatibility if something officially gets assigned that code. At this point we're not prepared to make that kind of commitment.
Such that OS reserved area becoming allocated?
-uses Ubuntu+GNOME 3 GNU/Linux
-likes Free (as in freedom) and Open Source Detergents
-favors open source of Windows 10 under GPL2

eersoy93
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:24 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: A Request for Turkish Translation

Post by eersoy93 » Fri Apr 11, 2014 7:53 am

erkinalp wrote:
Adding a language code unilaterally risks breaking compatibility if something officially gets assigned that code. At this point we're not prepared to make that kind of commitment.
Such that OS reserved area becoming allocated?
Yes, such that OS reserved area becoming allocated?
Turkish translator of ReactOS.

erkinalp
Posts: 843
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: A Request for Turkish Translation

Post by erkinalp » Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:26 am

It seems language IDs greater than 0x9C and parlance IDs greater than 0x7FFF are not allocated(said reserved for OS use). We can use 0x8041 as an ID for pure Turkish.
-uses Ubuntu+GNOME 3 GNU/Linux
-likes Free (as in freedom) and Open Source Detergents
-favors open source of Windows 10 under GPL2

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest