ReactOS on OLD hardware

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

bochek

ReactOS on OLD hardware

Post by bochek »

First of all i would like to say that i am new to ROS and i think its a great thing you are doing here.

Secondally, I have installed ROS on a OLD PI 233, this computer has no ps2 port for mouse support, this leaves only a serial mouse.

But it seems as tho the serial mouse does not work, and nor do any keyboard commands i try.

Any information?

Thanks,
Adam Bochek
mikedep333

Post by mikedep333 »

I'm not sure about serial mouse support, but it seems like you're saying that keyboard isn't working. Is this the case? ROS should support XT/AT keyboards.
Elledan

Post by Elledan »

A serial mouse should be plugged into the first serial port (COM1), or it won't work. This is because ROS for now only checks that port for the presence of a mouse :)
Gasmann

Post by Gasmann »

in most pentium boards, you do have ps/2 mouse (like on my old, great PCChips M537DMA33) and even usb onboard, but you have to find the plugs on the board and to know how to wire it up (lot of info available about this on the internet) and turn it on in BIOS. I've installed a Optical PS/2 mouse on that computer without ever having problems. However, as said before, you should also be able to use serial mouse. You can select it in the installer of ReactOS. Normal XT/AT keyboard should work too, at least mine is working.
steveh

serial mice small port is COM1 or COM2?

Post by steveh »

>A serial mouse should be plugged into the first serial port (COM1), or it won't work. This is because ROS for now only checks that port for the presence of a mouse Smile