ROS won't save settings

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
sycamoreent
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:53 pm

ROS won't save settings

Post by sycamoreent »

For some reason, I can't save any of my user settings. Help!
p.s. i have read/write on the hard drive.

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: ROS won't save settings

Post by Z98 »

You'll need to clarify which settings you're referring to.

sycamoreent
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:53 pm

Re: ROS won't save settings

Post by sycamoreent »

desktop picture, screen rez, all sorts of stuff. Also, it won't shut down. That may be the prob. cuz if it can't shutdown, then it can't save settings.
any help?

gabrielilardi
Moderator Team
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:30 am
Location: Italy

Re: ROS won't save settings

Post by gabrielilardi »

Are you using real hardware or is it a virtual machine? I'd advise you to use VirtualBox to test and get familiar with ros...

sycamoreent
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:53 pm

Re: ROS won't save settings

Post by sycamoreent »

it's my old craptop computer

gabrielilardi
Moderator Team
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:30 am
Location: Italy

Re: ROS won't save settings

Post by gabrielilardi »

sycamoreent wrote:it's my old craptop computer
Ros is in alpha stage yet, it's not ready for everyday use, we'd need a debug log here to try to troubleshoot the problem, you need a serial port a null modem cable and another computer see my signature for debugging instructions. As I said, try it in a virtualized environment, once you are a "master tester" you may want to try real hardware... ;)

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: ROS won't save settings

Post by Z98 »

There's a couple registry keys that store all this and ROS is actually incorrectly ignoring them. It's a known bug that Physicus was working on before he went off to trap handling land.

sycamoreent
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:53 pm

Re: ROS won't save settings

Post by sycamoreent »

any way to fix it?

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: ROS won't save settings

Post by Z98 »

When Physicus or anyone else gets around to it. It's fixable, just takes time.

Webunny
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:30 pm

Re: ROS won't save settings

Post by Webunny »

gabrielilardi wrote:Ros is in alpha stage yet, it's not ready for everyday use, we'd need a debug log here to try to troubleshoot the problem, you need a serial port a null modem cable and another computer see my signature for debugging instructions. As I said, try it in a virtualized environment, once you are a "master tester" you may want to try real hardware... ;)
:o

Without realising it myself, I'm already a Master Tester from the start!! :shock:


Whe'r is ma Masta-Testa-banner-avatar-thingy? 8-)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 2 guests