Installing problem - black screen(ReactOS 0.3.6)

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
zaq1WSX3
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:02 am

Installing problem - black screen(ReactOS 0.3.6)

Post by zaq1WSX3 »

Hi there,
I have a problem when I'm trying to install ReactOS on real hardware.
Setup is loading files and after loading kbdclass.sys is black screen.

My specification:
Intel Pentium III 1000MHz (7.5 x 133)
Motherboard Intel on i815 chipset
384MB of RAM
HDD 40GB Seagate
Partitions:
C: 7,94GB FAT32
D: 14,6GB FAT32
E: 14,6GB FAT32
Video ATI Radeon 9200SE AGP

When I'm booting from LiveCD(0.3.6) it runs.
When I'm using uniata or not, problem is the same.
Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Installing problem - black screen(ReactOS 0.3.6)

Post by Z98 »

I think, and don't quote me on this, the installer has some hardcoded values of where to expect the installer CD, ie, which drive. Yes, stupid, but no one ever got around to fixing that.
hto
Developer
Posts: 2193
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 3:43 pm

Re: Installing problem

Post by hto »

Z98 wrote: I think, and don't quote me on this, the installer has some hardcoded values of where to expect the installer CD, ie, which drive. Yes, stupid, but no one ever got around to fixing that.
If so, try to mark D: and E: as hidden FAT32 partitions (with some partition table manipulator), then install to C:.
GoBusto
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:13 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Installing problem

Post by GoBusto »

hto wrote:
Z98 wrote: I think, and don't quote me on this, the installer has some hardcoded values of where to expect the installer CD, ie, which drive. Yes, stupid, but no one ever got around to fixing that.
If so, try to mark D: and E: as hidden FAT32 partitions (with some partition table manipulator), then install to C:.
Remember that ReactOS is in alpha stage, though, so by installing it on real hardware you risk losing data, even on partitions other than the one you install it to. Therefore, you probably shouldn't install ReactOS on your main PC for the time being.

That said, if it's basically a disposable test machine (and you couldn't care less about what is on the hard disk) then please go right ahead.
rcoryelzey
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 4:42 am

Re: Installing problem - black screen(ReactOS 0.3.6)

Post by rcoryelzey »

hmm, i'm having the same problem too when installing on a relatively new compaq laptop. there is only one hdd and one cdrom drive. there is though a vista installation on the main drive. is it necessary to format to fat32 first?
Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Installing problem - black screen(ReactOS 0.3.6)

Post by Z98 »

Relatively new suggests a SATA drive, which we don't support yet.
rcoryelzey
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 4:42 am

Re: Installing problem - black screen(ReactOS 0.3.6)

Post by rcoryelzey »

thank you. i'm sure that is what is causing it. keep up the great work on reactos!
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests