Help with installation

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

anil@cnasoft.com
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 11:35 am

Help with installation

Post by anil@cnasoft.com »

Can someone help or point me to a help resource ?
This is the problem, I downloaded the latest CD install and Life CD of ReactOS, both fail at loading AFD.SYS, screen goes black and everything stops. What I am trying to find out actually is if a delphi win32 compiled app that uses midas.dll can run on ReactOS. If somebody already knows please write ...

Thx a lot

AK

GoBusto
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:13 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Help with installation

Post by GoBusto »

anil@cnasoft.com wrote:I downloaded the latest CD install and Life CD of ReactOS
The latest stable version (0.3.4) or the latest SVN build? 0.3.4 is pretty old now - the SVN builds are more up to date. Or you could wait for 0.3.5, which should be avalable in the next few days.

Right now, though (SVN-34189), it looks like SVN .ISO files are not being generated, so you'll have to wait until this is fixed.

EDIT 1: Trunk builds are back again now (SVN-34191).
EDIT 2: However, it looks like explorer.exe crashes instantly as soon as SVN-34191 boots, so it looks like you're back to waiting, I'm afraid.
Last edited by GoBusto on Sun Jun 29, 2008 7:14 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with installation

Post by Z98 »

Trunk just got broken by something, ironic considering so much effort was made to keep it stable before we branched the release.

anil@cnasoft.com
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 11:35 am

Re: Help with installation

Post by anil@cnasoft.com »

0.3.5 installation breaks even ealier ???
OK I downloaded QEMU ... did not work, during boot, screen freez and crach
Life CD, loads 4-5 sys files and restarts the machine
Installation, like life CD loads 4-5 sys files and restarts the machne.
Well maybe I am doing something terreibly wrong, can someone point me to istallation quide ?

GoBusto
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:13 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Help with installation

Post by GoBusto »

anil@cnasoft.com wrote:0.3.5 installation breaks even ealier ???
OK I downloaded QEMU ... did not work, during boot, screen freez and crach
Life CD, loads 4-5 sys files and restarts the machine
Installation, like life CD loads 4-5 sys files and restarts the machne.
Well maybe I am doing something terreibly wrong, can someone point me to istallation quide ?
You're not doing anything wrong, it's just that ReactOS 0.3.5 is not out of Alpha stage yet and, as such, still has some annoying bugs.

0.3.6 will be ready in August and 0.4 will be here by the end of the year, but these will both still be considered Alpha stage software. 0.5, the first Beta version, will probably arrive near the end of 2009.

If you would like a more immediate response to your questions, I'd suggest joining the #reactos channel on irc.freenode.net.

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with installation

Post by Z98 »

I find it odd that qemu is failing on you, since we provide a bundled version of qemu with ROS, though it's for Windows. What version of qemu are you running and what version of Windows?

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Help with installation

Post by Haos »

Download and installl Qemu 0.9.0 or 0.9.1 for your host OS. You may also use kqemu if you wish. Grab 0.3.5 bootcd and mount it in qemu as a CDROM drive. Boot qemu from CD and install ros, then boot from HDD.

anil@cnasoft.com
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 11:35 am

Re: Help with installation

Post by anil@cnasoft.com »

QEMU 0.3.4 I tested on vista and it ran.
QEMU 0.3.5 I tested on Vista and it crashed, now I have windows still crashes.

both versions of life CD and Install CD fail after 4-5 loads of sys files.

Do I need one entire harddrive partition ?. I have have 4 partitions, the first one is FAT and Primary all the rest are NTFS.

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Help with installation

Post by Haos »

Dont use QEMU premade image. Please get ReactOS 0.3.5 bootcd and do the proper installation.

anil@cnasoft.com
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 11:35 am

Re: Help with installation

Post by anil@cnasoft.com »

OK I have a complete new pc now, will try all images and will let you know how it went.
thx

FlyingIsFun1217
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:56 am

Re: Help with installation

Post by FlyingIsFun1217 »

For me at least, 0.9.0 (Qemu) has crashed on Vista. 0.9.1 & anything below 0.9.0 works though...

FlyingIsFun1217

GoBusto
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:13 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Help with installation

Post by GoBusto »

I'm using QEMU 0.9 on Windows Server 2008 and I've had no problems.

FlyingIsFun1217
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:56 am

Re: Help with installation

Post by FlyingIsFun1217 »

GoBusto wrote:I'm using QEMU 0.9 on Windows Server 2008 and I've had no problems.
What point release?

FlyingIsFun1217

GoBusto
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:13 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Help with installation

Post by GoBusto »

FlyingIsFun1217 wrote:
GoBusto wrote:I'm using QEMU 0.9 on Windows Server 2008 and I've had no problems.
What point release?

FlyingIsFun1217
QEMU 0.9.0

FlyingIsFun1217
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:56 am

Re: Help with installation

Post by FlyingIsFun1217 »

Interesting. Wish I had your luck... :(

FlyingIsFun1217

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest