Is Dial-Up supported?

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
svenofix
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 8:45 am

Is Dial-Up supported?

Post by svenofix » Tue May 20, 2008 9:16 am

So ya. I would really like to switch from windows to ReactOS, but my only
concern would be whether or not ReactOS has or will have Dial-Up support
like Windows does? Since Dial-Up and Windows are my only access to the
internet at home. If ReactOS does support Dial-Up, would it enable me to
know if someone is calling if I'm on the internet (on Dial-Up)?

SdC
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: GMT +1

Post by SdC » Tue May 20, 2008 10:03 am

ReactOS is not ready to be used as your primary OS: application support is limited and it is not stable.
There is no dial-up networking at all.
Patience!

videlux
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:13 am
Location: Koenigswinter, near to Bonn, Germany

Post by videlux » Tue May 20, 2008 1:57 pm

Hi, for me, ReactOS is an interesting project. Since years at home I don´t use Monopoly-Software any more. On work I´m able to reduce it to a minimum (besides my standard Debian-working-place)

For your purpose, GNU/Linux has made it possible since more than a decade to go online by modem-dial-up, as I do at this moment.
Therefore you don´t need ReactOS. A lot of Win-Apps can be run with "wine".

If your OS has to be small, I recommend www.damnsmalllinux.org <50MB, Live CD or installable, even on older Hardware.

If some money is available, in the near future we can go online almost immediately after switchin on the computer: Look for ASUS mainboards with splashtop. This is a mini-Linux-based system with a few applications like a browser, packed on a chip together with the bios.
As ReactOS is a free project, in the far future it might even become possible, that one burns one´s own chip-based (React)OS on such a board.

Nevertheless I am glad with every progress in ReactOS.
ReactOS is already able to do some things, like writing texts (unfortunately not printing), playing some games, watching photos, even - as far as I know - going online by means of an existing network.

(edit: typo: splashtop)

videlux

FlyingIsFun1217
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:56 am

Post by FlyingIsFun1217 » Tue May 20, 2008 3:16 pm

Linux actually doesn't have that great of a dial-up status, simply because most modems anymore are winmodems, which are not too greatly supported.

FlyingIsFun1217

svenofix
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 8:45 am

Post by svenofix » Tue May 20, 2008 9:40 pm

FlyingIsFun1217 wrote:Linux actually doesn't have that great of a dial-up status, simply because most modems anymore are winmodems, which are not too greatly supported.

FlyingIsFun1217

I completely agree. I also use Ubuntu, but am as of yet not been able to go onto the internet
via Dial-Up.,

As with the WIne Emulator, not all Windows programs are able to run with it, and my
Windows Distribution is pretty darn unstable. It's why I'm interested in using ReactOS.

So ReactOS will be able to support Dial-Up once it's fully up and running? Or am I
missing anything here?

Mrkaras
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 5:43 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Mrkaras » Wed May 21, 2008 11:30 am

I'm sure reactos will support dial up one day but not very soon. your best option at this stage would be a windows reinstall by the sounds of it (or better still fix what ever is making your windows install unstable)

currently you will find reactos more unstable than any window install. Reactos would be a grate option but it won't be ready for years yet.

svenofix
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 8:45 am

Post by svenofix » Wed May 21, 2008 7:39 pm

Mrkaras wrote:I'm sure reactos will support dial up one day but not very soon. your best option at this stage would be a windows reinstall by the sounds of it (or better still fix what ever is making your windows install unstable)

currently you will find reactos more unstable than any window install. Reactos would be a grate option but it won't be ready for years yet.

I guess I'll just wait patiently until ReactOS is up and running. As for reinstalling Windows, is
it possible to get an installation that is just plain windows without ANY extra stuff on it?

MadWolf
Posts: 540
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:19 am
Contact:

Post by MadWolf » Wed May 21, 2008 7:47 pm

hi


it possible to get an installation that is just plain windows without ANY extra stuff on it?
yep get NLite http://www.nliteos.com/

Have you ever wanted to remove Windows components like Media Player, Internet Explorer, Outlook Express, MSN Explorer, Messenger...
How about not even to install them with Windows ?

nLite is a tool for pre-installation Windows configuration and component removal at your choice. Optional bootable image ready for burning on media or testing in virtual machines.
With nLite you will be able to have Windows installation which on install does not include, or even contain on media, the unwanted components.
Last edited by MadWolf on Wed May 21, 2008 10:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Wed May 21, 2008 8:54 pm

Rember reactos is not LINUX
it is own kernel that is base on NT archteture from Microsoft
it is same acture in all NT system (includes windows 2000/XP/2003/VISTA/2008) so on

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests