Page 1 of 1

Hard drive partitioning clarification?

Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 2:37 am
by DRNewcomb
I'd like to get something clarified about the partitioning of a disk for testing ROS (0.3.4). I have a system I use as a sandbox for testing programs, different distributions of Linux, etc. When I most recently reinstalled Linux I decided I'd leave a small primary partition (6 GB) free just for testing ROS and the like. This seemed (to me) to be consistent with what I found in the Wiki and FAQ. What's on the disk is:
1. a large ext3 file system, primary partition
2. a small swap partition, primary partition
3. a small empty primary partition (for ROS)
4. an extended partition with one subpartition with an empty FAT32 file system.

When I booted from the install CD it informed me that the installer didn't understand more than one primary partition on a drive. I've also read that the ROS partition must be in the primary partition and must be on the master IDE drive.

So what's the deal? Are all these actually requirments or ROS or is this some limitation of the installer? I've read that ROS can be installed as a dual boot system but being on the first and only primary partition could pose problems.

I can install and old drive as the IDE slave and partition it any way I want. Would that work?

Just to be extra clear. This system is used only for software & OS testing. It can blow up and as long as it doesn't catch fire there will be no loss.

Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 1:02 pm
by Haos
Its just a current limitation of our freeldr. It requires a single primary partition on Master.

Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 1:24 pm
by DRNewcomb
So what are the practical limitations for installation on a hard drive? I also read how to use GRUB as a boot manager for ROS. Is it impossible to install and bood from drive configurations other than the first and only primary partition on the master IDE drive?

Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 2:32 pm
by Haos
You would have to install ROS when only one hdd is installed and it contains a single primary partition. Then it can boot within any setup (grub chainloading, bios boot device selection, etc).

Sorry, i`m not the best person to answer your questions, you`d need to wait for more.

Re:

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 7:18 pm
by Shadowmeph
Haos wrote:You would have to install ROS when only one hdd is installed and it contains a single primary partition. Then it can boot within any setup (grub chainloading, bios boot device selection, etc).

Sorry, i`m not the best person to answer your questions, you`d need to wait for more.
ok I noticed this is an old post but has this option changed yet?
I have two hard drives and on my first hard drive I have two MS OS's and on my seconcond hard drive I have Mandriva but there is alot of room on the second drive and I would like to install ROS on it

Re: Hard drive partitioning clarification?

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:24 pm
by hto
Partition support is still broken, ReactOS can boot only from the 1st partition on the 1st HDD. There may be other partitions or disks, they will not disturb.

You can try to exchange two HDDs. Or run ReactOS in an emulator, such as QEMU.

Re: Hard drive partitioning clarification?

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:25 pm
by vicmarcal
Just for safety it´s better to install in one HDD (not SATA) without any other OS installed.
This is alpha, and could give some problems,dont work or indeed delete other OS or partitions.
You can try(if u want) LiveCD,which actually seems to work so well.

Re: Hard drive partitioning clarification?

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:36 pm
by Haos
Additional partitions need to be Primary, else you wont be able to access them from within ROS. You also shouldn`t delete the firts partition in 1st stage of install, as recreating it can wipe all other partitions, as you can observe them not being listed.

Re: Hard drive partitioning clarification?

Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 6:32 am
by Shadowmeph
Haos wrote:Additional partitions need to be Primary, else you wont be able to access them from within ROS. You also shouldn`t delete the firts partition in 1st stage of install, as recreating it can wipe all other partitions, as you can observe them not being listed.
ok thatnk you for clearing this up
I guess that I will continue to run ReactOS in QEMU, it does run pretty smooth considering its still in the Alpha stage