Page 1 of 1

problem on install

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:09 pm
by cjulio
im am trying to install ReactOS in a old machin with ReactOS as a single OS is this possible if yes wi do i get the foloing message:

invalid partition table magic 0xff84 found on drive 0x9f

i have tried making a partition with win98
i have tried with no partition
i have tried formating with win98

what am i doing rong

Re: problem on install

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:18 pm
by Meklort
cjulio wrote:im am trying to install ReactOS in a old machin with ReactOS as a single OS is this possible if yes wi do i get the foloing message:

invalid partition table magic 0xff84 found on drive 0x9f

i have tried making a partition with win98
i have tried with no partition
i have tried formating with win98

what am i doing rong
Can you tell us when you get the error message (during instal cd's boot / during reading of the partition table / during writing the partition table / installing / ect.)
One thing might be if you have another partition (not sure why it would matter) that Reactos cant identify, or is not formatted correctly.

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:21 pm
by cjulio
the error gives when i boot from the cdrom it is the second line that apears after deteting hardware

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:22 pm
by Meklort
cjulio wrote:the error gives when i boot from the cdrom it is the second line that apears after deteting hardware
As far as i can tell, it seams to be somthing with some kind of strage device, could you posibly try a different harddrove / cd drive?

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:54 pm
by cjulio
i have tried in another computer and it works but now my mouse goues crazy i cant wotk with the OS

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 5:37 pm
by cjulio
now i have changed the mouse from ps2 to serial an it is ok but now my problem is when i go to the screen properties and to advanced it does not work and the window blocks

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 7:51 pm
by frik85
cjulio wrote:now i have changed the mouse from ps2 to serial an it is ok but now my problem is when i go to the screen properties and to advanced it does not work and the window blocks
unimplemented feature :wink:

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:46 pm
by Drs
Hi,

Can you give us more details about the machine that gave you that FreeLdr error? What kind of motherboard and chipset etc. It could also be a problem with the CHS reading code in Freeldr. LBA usually has no problem but CHS can be tricky for old machines.

Thanks.