ReactOS won't install

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Jake
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:40 am

ReactOS won't install

Post by Jake » Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:51 am

I have tried on my old pc but it won't install. It appears to go thru a list of driver files at bootup but then the screen goes blank and nothing happens.
System specs: Celeron 700 CPU w/320 MB RAM, 30.5 ATA Seagate HDD.
Intel D815EEA board with onboard audio and video and lan.
Any ideas or suggestions?
Thanks,
Jake

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Z98 » Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:37 am

Did you happen to catch the last driver it tried to load?

Jake
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:40 am

Post by Jake » Tue Feb 05, 2008 5:28 am

I'm quite sure it was AFD.SYS...

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Z98 » Tue Feb 05, 2008 5:42 am

Hmm. A driver for BSD sockets. I'm personally not aware of any issues involving the network stack, so you'll need to pull a debug output for us to see what's going on. Basically connect a serial port between two computers and run HyperTerminal on the other one to receive the output, and boot into debug mode on the first computer and see what it gives you at the crash.

Jake
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:40 am

Post by Jake » Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:27 am

I'll try to get a cable somewhere... boot into debug mode? Got me there.

Jake
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:40 am

Post by Jake » Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:30 pm

I have a cable, connected through com 1, but I see nothing in hyperterminal.

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Z98 » Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:51 pm

Which version are you using to test?

Guennie1568
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:46 pm
Location: Germany, Bavarya, Neumarkt
Contact:

Post by Guennie1568 » Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:06 pm

@Jake

I think, you have a problem with your onboard graphics card. ROS don't like shared memory I think. If you have an old AGP graphics card, try with it to boot
Guennie1568
ROS-Fan und X2Pandora Audioeditor

Jake
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:40 am

Post by Jake » Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:52 am

Some progress.. I put an 8 MB AGP video card in. It now boots up through the drivers (AFD.SYS is still the last one in the list) and then it shows a dialog saying please wait.. installing drivers. Once that's done I have a desktop with an image background, a MY Documents icon, a My Computer icon and in between those two an icon which I assume is for a network. This icon however has no text label. Nothing works.. keyboard, mouse nothing. Hyperterminal on the other box shows nothing whatsoever.
To answer Z98... it's version 0.3.4.

EDIT: I just noticed that although I have no mouse or keyboard it appears to be running as the clock is keeping time.

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:00 am

Guennie1568
I have 18-20 diffent laptop with diffent graphic card that works with reactos all have share memory

The issue with reactos on laptop and normal comptuer
is follow

1. if it vbe 2.x or higher compatible it works fine other wise no

2. if it a intel graphic card. it will problare not work for intel fake
a framebufer pointer. it is a bank pointer we getting instead
(64KB video ram we getting when we request all video ram)
will not working fine then

3. if the graphic fake vbe 2.x or higher reactos maybe will not working
fine then.

I think this cover most issue with graphic card issue

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Z98 » Sun Feb 10, 2008 8:20 am

Jake, the keyboard/mouse issue should be fixed in trunk. It was one of those last minute bugs that was only partially fixed before release. Try the latest trunk build instead.

Guennie1568
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:46 pm
Location: Germany, Bavarya, Neumarkt
Contact:

Post by Guennie1568 » Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:27 am

GreatLoard
I will try other thinngs. When I have my Nullmodem cable I will make a bootlog file. So I can see what my problem is :)
Guennie1568
ROS-Fan und X2Pandora Audioeditor

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Sun Feb 10, 2008 6:39 pm

Guennie1568
can u send me private msg u laptop spec and which manufactor it is and model, and year when it is manufactor ?

timsoft
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:36 pm

reactos installation hangs at copying file mpr.dll on latest

Post by timsoft » Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:23 pm

hangs on latest build bootcd 32441
at copying file mpr.dll

on "digital pc" p2 233MHz 128mb ram 3com 3c905b 4gb hd, onboard s3virge graphics.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests