liveCD 3.3 RC2 issues

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
choman
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 4:39 am

liveCD 3.3 RC2 issues

Post by choman »

The loader directory seems to be missing a few files so I can not boot it

AquaticElf
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 6:19 pm

Post by AquaticElf »

Same problem here, will not boot.

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4425
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo »

Come on guys. How shall someone help you, if you do not add ANY Hardware specs, Log Files or just a more detailled Bug explaination? One simple sentence without any helpful information except: It does not work! Great
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

AquaticElf
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 6:19 pm

Post by AquaticElf »

there were no error reports or anything else, it simply would not boot or work for me. I have no idea why. Sorry to have troubled you.

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4425
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo »

OK... I guess you used a real PC, no Virtual Machine, yes? Could you two tell us something about the Hardware? CPU, Mainboard, Graphic etc... Then with errors, I mean logs, which were logged over COM Port Output. But a black screen is a black screen if there did not show up anything before....
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

zeifer
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:41 pm

Eagerly Awaiting Fully Stable release of ReactOS

Post by zeifer »

Hello,

I have been interested in the ReactOS project for a long while now. Seeing that you have users here who do not seem to be at all helpful when reporting bugs and such, I figure I shall help out a little more.

First, I have tried the last release on two different computers, one system is a laptop (but I now know why that did not work. I saw a post about ReactOS not being compatible with shared video cards...) the other system is a desktop from eMachines/Gateway.

The desktop information may be more useful to you if the release I mention does, indeed, not work with shared video cards.

The eMachines system is a W3503 with some modifications. The shared video card is disabled, the replacement is a 256Mb nVidia Geforce 7600GS connected to two VGA monitors (despite the DVI-D port on the card). The processor is an Intel Core 2 Duo rated at 3.33GHz. System also sports 1gb of PC3200 RAM (not the best, I know). I have also installed a 24-bit surround sound card from Creative called Audigy Live! which runs my 5.1 surround sound system from Logitech (not that you needed that info) The fixed disk in the system is attached via ultra ATA/100 and has a capacity of roughly 160Gb (also not the best, I know).

My system runs 2 DVD+/-RW drives as well. Both drives will allow booting from CD if a bootable disc is detected. The CD I was running from was an install CD, not live, but the result is pretty much the same. I am able to format the disk and install but the system never brings up the GUI for ReactOS. The system remains on and seems as if it is awaiting input but the monitors remain black. The problem is comparable to what happens on my Compaq Presario V2718WM laptop. It formats, 'installs', and hangs on reboot.

If the problem is related the lack of support for onboard video cards, would this not mean that the release should work on the desktop computer with a dedicated graphics card?

Also, where might one be able to find a HCL for ReactOS as well as a system specification list? One would think that the Gateway (eMachines) is very capable of running a lighter-weight version of windows if it can run winXP, XP Pro, Vista Ultimate (I only tried it out, I did not buy it.)

Thanks,

Zeifer

cruzades
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:53 am
Location: Philippines

Post by cruzades »

0.3.3-REL

specs:

Pentium 3 933Mhz
256SDRAM
64MB Mx400 video card
40gb HDD seagate 7200rpm
cdrom drive
floppy drive

live cd didn't boot a all, I've jot down some technical information that might help to isolate the problem.
Technical Information

*** STOP:0x0000007E (0xc0000005, 0x9DA2DCA8, 0x9DE7EB90, 0x9DE7E7C0)

*** win32k.sys - Address 9da2dca8 base at 9d9d2000, datestamp 46e6fc75

cruzades
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:53 am
Location: Philippines

Post by cruzades »

cruzades wrote:0.3.3-REL

specs:

Pentium 3 933Mhz
256SDRAM
64MB Mx400 video card
40gb HDD seagate 7200rpm
cdrom drive
floppy drive

live cd didn't boot a all, I've jot down some technical information that might help to isolate the problem.
Technical Information

*** STOP:0x0000007E (0xc0000005, 0x9DA2DCA8, 0x9DE7EB90, 0x9DE7E7C0)

*** win32k.sys - Address 9da2dca8 base at 9d9d2000, datestamp 46e6fc75

OK here's the breakthrough, upon burning and running the nightly build (livecd-29242-dbg.iso), dang, i was so amazed... it boots perfectly now on the aforementioned PC.

yay, feel so excited. ^^

to all devs, kudos!!

RapidFire
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:09 pm

Post by RapidFire »

I tried the latest nightly (livecd-29464-dbg.7z) and it does not boot into the OS at all. It produced a BSOD with the following technical details:

STOP: 0x0000007B (0x874E1B74,0xC0000034,0x00000000,0x00000000)

I've tried the 0.3.3 LiveCD release and likewise it does not work.

My system specs are:

PII-350MHz
512MB SDRAM
Nvidia FX5200 GFX
80GB IDE HDD (tried disabling in BIOS still does not work)
CDROM/Floppy

cruzades
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:53 am
Location: Philippines

Post by cruzades »

@RapidFire
Nvidia FX5200 GFX
i can attest that it doesn't boot with that kind of vid card.

i have that kind of card on my sempron, and booting is no luck as well.

Guennie1568
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:46 pm
Location: Germany, Bavarya, Neumarkt
Contact:

Post by Guennie1568 »

The LiveCD you tried is a 0.4 SVN revision and this versions are never very stable. Since relaise 0.3.0 I never could install or run ReactOS on real hardware, only on virtual machines. I hope, the developers will fix that in the next view relaises.
Guennie1568
ROS-Fan und X2Pandora Audioeditor

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Z98 »

The LiveCD in general is really crappy. I had moved to have it axed until we get to 0.5, but to no avail. And telling us it failed isn't enough. We NEED debug outputs in order to acertain anything.

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord »

wild guess is that we are start using SSE in ntoskrnl context swtich
and P2 does not support SSE, my guess something goes wrong here with detections of SSE

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest