Mozilla ActiveX control required

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
skinner36
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Mozilla ActiveX control required

Post by skinner36 »

Hi, I have just installed Reactos to have a look and I must say I am
quite impressed with what I see. However, I have been trying to run a web
browser without much luck and I was hoping someone could help me solve
the problem.


Below is the information relating to the my test system.
--------------------------------------------------------
1 I have downloaded the vmware image and intalled it into a vmware session
2 Reactos version: reactos0.3.0-REL-vmware.zip
3 Installed in VMware version 5.0
4 No vmware tools installed


Error
-----
When I click Ibrowser a dialogue box asking to install an ActiveX control is displayed
but when I click yes a progress bar displays and completes (as if a download has completed
successfully. I am then returned to the empty desktop with no browser open.

No mater how many times I click on Ibrowser the same thing happens

I have rebooted the virtual machine after the install of the activex control but I get exactly
the same result.

If I click on "Get Firefox" a dialogue box flashes on the screen and I am returned to the desktop

I have tested the Internet connection by pinging www.ibm.com which returns the standard reply
indicating success.


Process to re-create the error
------------------------------
Click start
Click Programs
Click Ibrowser

the following message displays

This application is requesting an ActiveX browser object
but the Mozilla ActiveX control is currently installed. Do you wish to download and install it?


Selecting yes

Downloading the Mozilla ActiveX control window pages displays
label saying links.reactos.org with a cancel button

download appears to finish and all displays are closed and you are returned to the desktop. Ibrowser is not running

Any help woild be reatly appreciated

John

Radhad
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Radhad »

The problem is that the adress of the programs like Mozilla ActiveX and Mozilla Firefox have changed so that you cannot download them. But within a few days ReactOS 0.3.1 should be released and then this will work ;)

GreyGhost
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:16 pm

Post by GreyGhost »

Hello,
Yes i thnk the devs are aware of the broken dowloader link ... maybe u can try downloading Firefox manually and moving it into the VM .. (i'd suggest one of those 1.5.x and not 2.0 cos i've never managed to get it installed ;) )
Regards GreyGhost

skinner36
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by skinner36 »

Could you suggest where I could get Firefox 1.5 from. I have checked the Mozilla download sites and I can only find 2

John

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Z98 »


skinner36
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by skinner36 »

I have tried to install Firefox 1.5.0.10 but without any luck.

The progress bar indication the percentage of install completed progresses to about half way then the firefox install screen closes down and I am returned to the desktop.

I cannot find a reference to this behavour by searching the forum or by looking through the bu report.

Should I log this as bug or is it a known issue?

Regards

John

GreyGhost
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:16 pm

Post by GreyGhost »

Thats weird though i've never treied 1.5.0.10 ... if ur sure it hasnt been reported then do report it following this..
http://www.reactos.org/wiki/index.php/File_Bugs

Also if u still have the patience u can try using 1.5.0.4 from here ...
http://www.oldversion.com/program.php?n=firefox

last time i tried it had worked under 0.3ROS for me...
Regards GreyGhost

divinechild
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:52 am

FTP DOS...

Post by divinechild »

Hello ! I'm new as a ReactOs user (under Vmware) but I knew ReactOs project since time ago... :D

I have ReactOs v3 vmware version and had same problems as skinner36...

To download Firefox 1.5.0.4, I used ftp dos commands instead of the "mountig virtual drives" procedure...

So you can download Firefox 1.5.0.4, put in on a ftp of your, and then download it on ReactOs through ftp command dos !

And voilà ! :wink:

JohhnyQ
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 1:08 pm

Re: FTP DOS...

Post by JohhnyQ »

divinechild wrote:Hello ! I'm new as a ReactOs user (under Vmware) but I knew ReactOs project since time ago... :D

I have ReactOs v3 vmware version and had same problems as skinner36...

To download Firefox 1.5.0.4, I used ftp dos commands instead of the "mountig virtual drives" procedure...

So you can download Firefox 1.5.0.4, put in on a ftp of your, and then download it on ReactOs through ftp command dos !

And voilà ! :wink:
I have tried to use ftp to transfer files from my ftp-servber to ReactOs but it transfers only the filenam without its contents, i.e. size 0. On my W2K virtual machine I can easily transfer the files (using the 'get' command) without a problem.

Tried also to use the 'put' command from my ReactOs virtual system to the ftp server but this also does not work giving me the following error message: filename: not a plain file

I know it is not a normal behaviour but have no clue to where to start looking. Has anyone else have had this same problem?

aicommander
Developer
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:23 pm

SVN

Post by aicommander »

Try the latest svn build at http://svn.reactos.org/iso. Use the latest bootcd.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests