ReactOS 0.3.0 - CD does not work...

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
michaelbischof
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:09 pm

ReactOS 0.3.0 - CD does not work...

Post by michaelbischof » Thu Aug 31, 2006 6:57 pm

Hi Everybody,

I tried to use the ReactOS-0.3.0-LiveCD on my PCs. It did not work - but the
same CD worked on our school PC!

The error messages are:

Invalid partition table magic 0x2507 found on drive 0x9f

Unable to locate boot partition

Error opening bot partition for file access


Any ideas what I should do?

Regards,

Michael Bischof

Ferret-Simpson
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 3:38 pm

Post by Ferret-Simpson » Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:58 pm

You could steal one of the School computers. . .?

michaelbischof
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:09 pm

stealing from school...

Post by michaelbischof » Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:40 pm

Hi,

no, I tried the Reactos-Live-CD on a school computer and it worked. To this place I wrote because I hoped it could be possible to "steal" some know how
why this Live-CD does not work on 2 of my machines at home.

The necessery error messages I showed. Not knowing Reactos yet I can make no use of them.

Anybody here who knows more?

Regards,

Michael Bischof

Andrewm1986
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 4:08 pm

Post by Andrewm1986 » Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:16 pm

Are your cd drives something silly like sata?

Ferret-Simpson
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 3:38 pm

Post by Ferret-Simpson » Fri Sep 01, 2006 11:03 pm

They don't make those!

michaelbischof
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:09 pm

cd drive not the reason...

Post by michaelbischof » Fri Sep 01, 2006 11:18 pm

Hi,

thanks for the reply! No, the CD drives cannot be the reason. It is possible to boot from a lot of different CDs with them.

There must be another reason - then!

Regards,

Michael Bischof

Ferret-Simpson
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 3:38 pm

Post by Ferret-Simpson » Fri Sep 01, 2006 11:20 pm

Maybe your boards just don't like the ReactOS bootloader.

I had a few problems once with an NCR S20 server that had to be booted by floppy to start the Slackware installer, and then wouldn't boot lilo either.

I've got a POS (Till, not insult) that won't boot Windows > 95. Sod all you can do, really.

michaelbischof
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:09 pm

Thank you...

Post by michaelbischof » Sat Sep 02, 2006 8:05 am

Hi,

thanks for your help - in this case there is apparently nothing I can do further. I will follow here how ReactOS develops. Good luck to you!

Regards,

Michael Bischof

counting_pine
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Fallowfield

Post by counting_pine » Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:29 pm

If you don't specifically want to run it on real hardware, you could run it emulated - there's a QEMU-preloaded version on the Downloads page. It's not as fast as real hardware, but it still gives you a good feel of what it's like.

Andrewm1986
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 4:08 pm

Post by Andrewm1986 » Sat Sep 02, 2006 10:12 pm

Ferret-Simpson wrote:They don't make those!
Just to make a point, they do

http://www.directron.com/sataopti.html

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests