HELP! GUI dowesn't respond!

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
hyperwind
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

HELP! GUI dowesn't respond!

Post by hyperwind » Fri Jan 14, 2005 12:03 pm

0.2.5 ISO burnt, installed on a fresh FAT32-formatted primary partition (27GB) + formatted by the native ReactOS tool during 'BLUE' setup, HDD made alone in system. Installation was successful.
Rebooted twice, GIU launched.

I am SURPRISED. 50% of menu shortcuts lead to the "PATH NOT FOUND etc" error message window (more - after clicking the ONLY 'OK' button it appears again, so that 1 error is identified twice). other 50% was clicked by me with NO RESULT, i.e. click - and nothing happens!

so, I typed, driven by intuition, the word 'control' in 'RUN' and got CONTROL PANEL. OK, at least... but again, several applets aren't shown up upon click! those that are... doesn't contain anything, e.g. MOUSE applet contain 3 (!) absolutely blank pages ('bookmarks') with the words such as 'PREFERENCES 1' , 'PREFERENCES 2' , 'PREFERENCES 3' in center of pages!!!

'DISPLAY' applet contain few pages with needed interface, ie resolution, color depth etc, several named combo-boxes that are... completely EMPTY !

It will be redundant to say that I couldn't launch interface to set the system time and many more.

File manager is also worked only to display disk content, nothing more, I couldn't make any file operation there.

I understand that it is a pre-release but I am also surprised that I couldn't even make anything described on this website while in ReactOS.

Please advise me what a problem may be!!!

NOTE: ASUS K8NE Deluxe (nForce 3 250 GB), AMD Athlon 64 3000+, 768 MB Kingston authentic DDR PC 3200 RAM, HDD WD 1600JD SATA (ONBOARD chipset-based SATA controller), Sapphire Radeon 9800 SE 128MB Video RAM, AGP 8x mode, 90% of integrated peripherals switched off, NO overcklocking.
I repeat: ReactOS installed on a fresh FAT32-formatted primary partition (27GB) + formatted by the native ReactOS tool during 'BLUE' setup.

I kindly ask you to forward advises to hyperwind@mail.ru if occasion arises.
Last edited by hyperwind on Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
we have a hard task to make a simple thing

Gedi

Post by Gedi » Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:04 pm

There is no problem. This is the current state of the operating system.

It's not a pre-release, it is very much work in progress, it's only on 0.2.5

If you want to see functionality added faster, you'll need to start writing code as the current development team is working on ROS every spare minute of the day.

When playing with the GUI, you won't really see much change as most of the work is happening under the hood.

By the time ROS 1.0 arrives, all the functionality you mentioned will be in there.

hyperwind
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Post by hyperwind » Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:21 pm

Thanks,
OK, no problem. So where can I get command-line manual for system tuning? E.g. I want to change resolution and bit depth...
Saw a screen shot of Q2 running on ReactOS... as I suppose, it will simply refuse to run in some desktop modes. Ref. rate is also an important thing.
we have a hard task to make a simple thing

tonik
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 11:32 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by tonik » Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:41 pm

If you have an NVidia card, read this: http://www.reactos.com/en/content/view/full/424

Ignore the part about patching the drivers, it's no longer necessary in 0.2.5 (or is that svn version only?)

hyperwind
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Post by hyperwind » Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:50 pm

Tonik wrote:If you have an NVidia card, read this: http://www.reactos.com/en/content/view/full/424

Ignore the part about patching the drivers, it's no longer necessary in 0.2.5 (or is that svn version only?)
Thank you, [un]fortunately I have Radeon 9800SE
I think for Q2 my Athlon is more than enough just to have a good FPS.
The main thing is to get compatibility.

Apart of being FREE OS, will ReactOS have some advantages over Windows (for example, better performance in most applications)?
I'm a home user with dial-up modem, so the SECURITY is the word that I laugh at. I have my data lost more often because of experiments with HDD than of so much feared 'internet attacks'. More, I'm not sure that someone could be excited by an idea to steal my private JPG like 'mom and the cat', 'countryhouse weekend' etc... so I think that performance is an only SANE goal that developers should have. IMHO.

N.B. About FREE software. Depends on geography.
99,999% of Russian users get the most fresh Windows+Office+Photoshop on 1 CD for as much as 1,5 USD. So what we are waiting is mostly improved PERFORMANCE and STABILITY (often STABILITY on hardly overclocked hardware).
we have a hard task to make a simple thing

tonik
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 11:32 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by tonik » Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:31 pm

If you want a stable, fast and free operating system today, it's the wrong place to look. ReactOS still has a long way to go before it's suitable for average users.
hyperwind wrote:99,999% of Russian users get the most fresh Windows+Office+Photoshop on 1 CD for as much as 1,5 USD.
Nope, you usually pay $3 - $4 for a CD, and I've never seen the three programs bundled on one disk, so the total price will be more like $10.
Still, affordable by any measure :-)

hyperwind
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Post by hyperwind » Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:47 pm

Tonik wrote:If you want a stable, fast and free operating system today, it's the wrong place to look. ReactOS still has a long way to go before it's suitable for average users.
hyperwind wrote:99,999% of Russian users get the most fresh Windows+Office+Photoshop on 1 CD for as much as 1,5 USD.
Nope, you usually pay $3 - $4 for a CD, and I've never seen the three programs bundled on one disk, so the total price will be more like $10.
Still, affordable by any measure :-)
I'm sorry. Bet you visit Tinkoff restaurant any Friday if you think that 10 bucks for a plastic circles is affordable. Bet I'm right, citizen of a capital city that sucks as much as 80% of federal budget for its population hedonism & decadence.
It is a bright example of the vile Moscow capitalism !!!
I have BOUGHT such a disk of Tycoon soft production on Junona open market in Saint-Petersburg for 40 ROUBLES. And it is OK.
Windows XP SP2 (Final) English
MUI for WIN XP (never use)
MS Office 2003 Pro Enterprise
Photoshop CS (8)
+Some other tools.

Everything runs well.

In former time, i worked as a sales representative for one of the key Microsoft Certified Partners. I know the very structure of MS and other Software companies' sales & marketing policy.

P.S. I am a zealous adept of a social capitalism model.
Don't like neither communists,
nor socialists,
nor monarchists,
nor (never!) anarchists,
never trusted liberalists.
we have a hard task to make a simple thing

uniQ
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:58 am

Post by uniQ » Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:48 am

I may not find interest in your problem (No offence, someone else solved them), but I like your socio-political commentary!

-uniQ
Coming on, coming up, let me help ROS and I'll be able to look @ a life well used.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest