If you run ReactOS native, is it slow?

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
.t.
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 12:40 pm

If you run ReactOS native, is it slow?

Post by .t. » Sun Jun 11, 2006 9:15 pm

I compile ReactOS trunk and 0.3 daily, but (when both work) they are really slow when running executables. Mouse movement becomes delayed, and it's if the CPU is on full load; but it can't be, unless there's a bug. However, it's not so slow running in Qemu. What's the problem? What config.rbuild options should I have? I have a pentium-m CPU, so that's the option I've set. Should it be different?

Davy
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:39 pm

Post by Davy » Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:07 am

I too have noticed that discrepency, it seems ReactOS has become more of a VM operating system then an actual operating system... something has to be done about this because I'm eager to try it out on my box ASAP without the need of emulation lol

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4294
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo » Mon Jun 12, 2006 10:26 am

As long as it is in such a early state, it will hopefully stay this way. It is tested and bugtracked on a VM, because of nice features, like COM to Log-File etc and it allows you tons of other things you hardly can do with a 2nd PC. Why trying to run it on all possible PCs and risking its stability in the main Bugfixing Environment, a VM? It's alpha and is not meant to be used as a main OS. If you really want to try it, then use a VM.

keytotime
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 2:11 am

Post by keytotime » Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:21 pm

.t. If you run ReactOS native it is very fast an responsive. What you need to beware of is the lack of USB keyboard/Mice support. Also like previously mentioned it is alpha software, so there will be bugs an major feature's missing. No sound/printer support or NTFS read/write support.

.t.
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 12:40 pm

Post by .t. » Mon Jun 12, 2006 6:28 pm

I get this behaviour while running mainly only driver install programs. Perhaps when driver support is better, this will be solved.

steveh
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 10:02 pm

You should use qemu with kqemu accelerator

Post by steveh » Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:06 am

I don't run reactos natively anymre since several weeks, because the installation once crunched the primary partition table of the 2nd HDD. Other disadvantage: in alpha stage it's a bit difficult to include vendor drivers for real hardware (graphics + network card) into real installation.

Reactos comes with some native XGA/SVGA and NE2000 drivers for virtual hardware emulated by qemu.

qemu + kqemu give good or very good performance results for reactos, even on an older P4 (1500Mhz).
You would think it is running native on a P1 or P2.

But I found performance with Qemu alone, WITHOUT accelerator rather disappointing.

Not yet tested XEN (needs an extra trunk?)
or vmware (pay-ware).

In the early days (ros <= 0.2.3) i once tested reactos with Bochs (=terribly poor performance).

Matthias
Posts: 496
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:43 am

Re: You should use qemu with kqemu accelerator

Post by Matthias » Tue Jun 13, 2006 2:14 am

steveh wrote:But I found performance with Qemu alone, WITHOUT accelerator rather disappointing.
That doesn't surprise me. That's because qemu without the accelerator module emulates the guest CPU instead of running the code natively as it does with the accelerator module. The point is that you can use qemu on, say, a PowerPC or SPARC machine, which doesn't wor with VMware or similar.

.t.
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 12:40 pm

Post by .t. » Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:37 pm

Well, that's not what I meant. I meant driver support, not hardware support. That means the drivers I install are supported by the OS, rather like poorly supported applications.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest