LiveCD Temp Files error

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Quigs
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:24 am
Location: USA
Contact:

LiveCD Temp Files error

Post by Quigs »

i cant create temp files with the live CD, making almost all installations impossible. Can I change the TEMP directory to another drive or use a ram drive somehow?

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LiveCD Temp Files error

Post by Gasmann »

Quigs wrote:i cant create temp files with the live CD, making almost all installations impossible. Can I change the TEMP directory to another drive or use a ram drive somehow?
Well, Ramdisk driver I think isn't implemented in ReactOS yet (at least I never saw one in it). But you can easily change the TEMP directory through cmd with e.g. the command set TEMP=C:\Temp . This would set it to C:\Temp.

Quigs
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:24 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by Quigs »

When I set the temp directory to another drive...it doesnt even give me error messages any more. Nothin appears to happen.

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Gasmann »

You can have a view at all variables easily by just entering "set". It then shows up all environment variables. But maybe the installer you try to use just doesn't work in ReactOS yet.

Quigs
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:24 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by Quigs »

thing is it gave me an error when I just used the original temp directory...
after I switched it, it did nothing...

Phalanx
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Australia

Post by Phalanx »

it will only work if your other driver is readable/writeable in ReactOS (eg. FAT32).

Quigs
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:24 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by Quigs »

its a fat32 drive...
figured out why it wasnt working for me... If you change it in CMD and then exit, it reverts back to the original data, u have to run everything from that CMD window

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest