Boot error?

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
geertvdijk
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 8:19 am

Boot error?

Post by geertvdijk » Sat May 13, 2006 10:15 pm

I've spiced up an old Pentium 1 200mhz MMX, at least that's what the casing says... It runs @ 150 mhz. With 64 mb's of RAM in total, it ran a version of Windows 95 OSR2 untill I broke the register :D
So then I decided it was time for ROS to step in... However, when I insert the ROS disc, select CDRom/C/A in the BIOS as boot sequence, it says "BOOT FAILURE PLEASE INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER".
Btw, it says that with any disc, including DamnSmallLinux and older Windows CD's and WinXP Stripped install cd... To get things out of the way, here everything on a list once again:
-Pentium 1 150 mhz MMX
-64 mb ram (inserted properly)
-PCI gfx card
-PCI sound (not that that matters)
-PCI Lan (i'll get it working)
-500 mb HD (yeah)

I didn't burn the ISO onto disc straight away, I chose "copy cd from image" in nero... It ran on my newer pc, so the cd is OK...
Any thoughts?
-graey-

steveh
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 10:02 pm

Booting from CD ok?

Post by steveh » Sun May 14, 2006 12:15 am

>"BOOT FAILURE PLEASE INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER"

This smells boot problems from CD.

Is booting from CD activated in the BIOS? Is CD set as first or 2nd boot device (prior to HDD)?

Does the BIOS of your machine anyway support booting from CD? (very old PC's often don't)

Coviti
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:26 am

Post by Coviti » Sun May 14, 2006 6:11 pm

Try a better CD-ROM drive or check the connection to your current one. I get this problem often and repair it by gently pressing the IDE cable into it's proper position.

geertvdijk
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 8:19 am

Re: Booting from CD ok?

Post by geertvdijk » Sun May 14, 2006 9:28 pm

steveh wrote:>"BOOT FAILURE PLEASE INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER"

This smells boot problems from CD.

Is booting from CD activated in the BIOS? Is CD set as first or 2nd boot device (prior to HDD)?

Does the BIOS of your machine anyway support booting from CD? (very old PC's often don't)
Yeah, I did... I actually said that in the first post ;)
@Coviti: thanx, I'll try :) I'll try another IDE cable if necassery...
-graey-

tsg1zzn
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:21 pm

Post by tsg1zzn » Mon May 15, 2006 5:03 pm

The problem is that your bios doesn't support booting from cd. Download a dos bootdiskette and boot from that. Make sure it has cdrom drivers. Then run the installation program on the cd.

A new IDE cable won't help.

Coviti
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:26 am

Post by Coviti » Mon May 15, 2006 5:51 pm

geertvdijk: Can you give me your Motherboard Model Number? It should be printed on the board somewhere. You may need a BIOS update, and I may be able to find one for you.
tsg1zzn wrote:The problem is that your bios doesn't support booting from cd. Download a dos bootdiskette and boot from that. Make sure it has cdrom drivers. Then run the installation program on the cd.

A new IDE cable won't help.
Then why does his BIOS's boot sequence include "CDROM"? Did you even read this part of his first post?
geertvdijk wrote:So then I decided it was time for ROS to step in... However, when I insert the ROS disc, select CDRom/C/A in the BIOS as boot sequence, it says "BOOT FAILURE PLEASE INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER".
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

His BIOS does appear to support CD-ROM booting, and since you know nothing about his PC, except for the specs given, it might be a good idea not to eliminate any possibilities.

By the way, I have an old Pentium I 166MHz Socket 7 Computer, and it allows CD-ROM booting! I also have several defective CD-ROM drives that appear to work, but cannot read any files from CDs in them. This may also be the cause of his problem.

PS: If a new IDE cable doesn't work, try a different CD-ROM drive that you know to work.

tsg1zzn
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:21 pm

Post by tsg1zzn » Mon May 15, 2006 9:15 pm

Coviti wrote:geertvdijk: Can you give me your Motherboard Model Number? It should be printed on the board somewhere. You may need a BIOS update, and I may be able to find one for you.
tsg1zzn wrote:The problem is that your bios doesn't support booting from cd. Download a dos bootdiskette and boot from that. Make sure it has cdrom drivers. Then run the installation program on the cd.

A new IDE cable won't help.
Then why does his BIOS's boot sequence include "CDROM"? Did you even read this part of his first post?
geertvdijk wrote:So then I decided it was time for ROS to step in... However, when I insert the ROS disc, select CDRom/C/A in the BIOS as boot sequence, it says "BOOT FAILURE PLEASE INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER".
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

His BIOS does appear to support CD-ROM booting, and since you know nothing about his PC, except for the specs given, it might be a good idea not to eliminate any possibilities.

By the way, I have an old Pentium I 166MHz Socket 7 Computer, and it allows CD-ROM booting! I also have several defective CD-ROM drives that appear to work, but cannot read any files from CDs in them. This may also be the cause of his problem.

PS: If a new IDE cable doesn't work, try a different CD-ROM drive that you know to work.
Obviously, if he can use the CD-ROM drive from Windows a new IDE cable won't do any difference. I think his CD-ROM drive is not using the same standard as the bios is expecting.

Coviti
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:26 am

Post by Coviti » Tue May 16, 2006 3:36 am

Hmm...Possible. I would like the Motherboard Model so I can search for a BIOS update. Also, was the image burned in a non-standard format, or with some oddball filesystem that the BIOS or your CD-ROM couldn't read without an operating system and a specialized IFS driver or a newer BIOS version?

By the way, you should still try the new cable and drive. Even if it doesn't work, heck, at least you tried! ;)

geertvdijk
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 8:19 am

Post by geertvdijk » Fri May 19, 2006 5:09 pm

tsg1zzn wrote:
Coviti wrote:geertvdijk: Can you give me your Motherboard Model Number? It should be printed on the board somewhere. You may need a BIOS update, and I may be able to find one for you.
tsg1zzn wrote:The problem is that your bios doesn't support booting from cd. Download a dos bootdiskette and boot from that. Make sure it has cdrom drivers. Then run the installation program on the cd.

A new IDE cable won't help.
Then why does his BIOS's boot sequence include "CDROM"? Did you even read this part of his first post?
geertvdijk wrote:So then I decided it was time for ROS to step in... However, when I insert the ROS disc, select CDRom/C/A in the BIOS as boot sequence, it says "BOOT FAILURE PLEASE INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER".
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

His BIOS does appear to support CD-ROM booting, and since you know nothing about his PC, except for the specs given, it might be a good idea not to eliminate any possibilities.

By the way, I have an old Pentium I 166MHz Socket 7 Computer, and it allows CD-ROM booting! I also have several defective CD-ROM drives that appear to work, but cannot read any files from CDs in them. This may also be the cause of his problem.

PS: If a new IDE cable doesn't work, try a different CD-ROM drive that you know to work.
Obviously, if he can use the CD-ROM drive from Windows a new IDE cable won't do any difference. I think his CD-ROM drive is not using the same standard as the bios is expecting.
Well, I've been out for a week, I went to London with school, but I do think it's the cable, since I once installed DSL on it without boot floppy... Also, I do not remember wether the cd worked in Win :oops: And indeed, as Coveti says, my bios does indeed allow CDROM to be a booting device... It's not that old, it even has USB and an IRDA port :shock: I'll try the things :)
-graey-

loki1985
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 1:39 pm

Post by loki1985 » Fri May 19, 2006 5:44 pm

insert the CD into some other computer, reboot and see whether the booting from CD works there.... if it doesn't work on other PCs, the burning software probably missed the boot part...

Nmn
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:20 pm
Location: In front of my pc maybe?

Post by Nmn » Sat May 20, 2006 6:07 am

Heh, but dont forget to try bios!

YOU NEED TO PRESS A KEY AT YOUR BIOS/ BOOTLOGO! Not the windows one either. Like, company name.

AMD computers:

Last time i had an AMD, the delete key entered bios. Then, i could find boot priority some where. Look for your cd device and move it to the top. This one is a LITTLE more straightforward, try to guide yourself, been a few years since ive had one.

Intel Computers:

I have a recent one. Its either F8 or F2, after updating bios it changed from F8 to F2. Now, go into the boot section with your right arrow key. Now, Goto and enter the boot priority. Scroll to your CD Rom Device, press enter, and a new window with all of the boot devices show up. Simpily scroll to the device that is the top of the list and press enter. Press escape to get back to the boot menu, use the right arrow key to scroll to the end and exit saving changes.

Other:

Heheh, aint getting help from me, sorry.


If you give me your computers boot screen, like what company is on it or what logo, if there is one. I know only a couple more.

geertvdijk
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 8:19 am

Post by geertvdijk » Sat May 20, 2006 9:26 am

Nmn wrote:Heh, but dont forget to try bios!

YOU NEED TO PRESS A KEY AT YOUR BIOS/ BOOTLOGO! Not the windows one either. Like, company name.

AMD computers:

Last time i had an AMD, the delete key entered bios. Then, i could find boot priority some where. Look for your cd device and move it to the top. This one is a LITTLE more straightforward, try to guide yourself, been a few years since ive had one.

Intel Computers:

I have a recent one. Its either F8 or F2, after updating bios it changed from F8 to F2. Now, go into the boot section with your right arrow key. Now, Goto and enter the boot priority. Scroll to your CD Rom Device, press enter, and a new window with all of the boot devices show up. Simpily scroll to the device that is the top of the list and press enter. Press escape to get back to the boot menu, use the right arrow key to scroll to the end and exit saving changes.

Other:

Heheh, aint getting help from me, sorry.


If you give me your computers boot screen, like what company is on it or what logo, if there is one. I know only a couple more.
it's an old one, shift+F2 or somthing... But I've had that, else I couldn't have set up the right boot sequence, as I posted in the first post ;)
-graey-

Blazkowicz
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 3:28 am

Post by Blazkowicz » Sun May 21, 2006 11:17 pm

try updating the BIOS if possible (you're lucky enough to have theorical CD boot, so maybe the BIOS is flashable)

and yes, try whatever CD/DVD drive you have in your main PC. a friend's laptop DVD player / CD burner combo went bad : first it couldn't boot from CDR but still read from CDR and booted from pressed CD, then it got gradually worse losing functionality till the drive was unusable (eh).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests