RosBE-Builder.sh resets "broken" glob.c

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
TMStreicher
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 4:04 am

RosBE-Builder.sh resets "broken" glob.c

Post by TMStreicher »

Good evening.

Having had no luck building ROS at ReactOS and Windows I tried to build ROSBE at Linux (being a beekeeping hobbyist). RosBE-Builder.sh failed however with the following error in the build.log

Code: Select all

glob.c:(.text+0x2c1): undefined reference to `__alloca'
Google-search brought up an entry at JIRA (and various other projects) where I learned that glob.c is not compatible with newer versions of GCC (I run GCC 7.5.0 at Lubuntu 18.04, 64 bit). So I applied the little patch suggested, replacing

Code: Select all

 !defined _alloca && !defined __GNU_LIBRARY_ 
by

Code: Select all

 !defined _alloca && defined __GNU_LIBRARY_ 
Same error.
At first I thought I forgot saving, then I thought I was crazy, but as it turned out the build-process of ROSBE resets glob.c. Any idea what I do wrong, please?

ThFabba
Developer
Posts: 291
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:39 am

Re: RosBE-Builder.sh resets "broken" glob.c

Post by ThFabba »

The build process extracts the .tar.gz file, so you have to extract, replace, and re-archive.

TMStreicher
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 4:04 am

Re: RosBE-Builder.sh resets "broken" glob.c

Post by TMStreicher »

Wonderful, thank you very much, ThFabba! :)
I was already installing older versions of GCC, but your advice solved the problem immediately. ROSBE has been built, ATM ROS compiles...

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4432
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: RosBE-Builder.sh resets "broken" glob.c

Post by EmuandCo »

"Any idea what I do wrong, please?"
Well, you use a incorrect name for example. Fixed that mistake for you!
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

TMStreicher
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 4:04 am

Re: RosBE-Builder.sh resets "broken" glob.c

Post by TMStreicher »

I am sorry, this was German humor. From now on I will stick to German correctness again.

MadWolf
Posts: 561
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: RosBE-Builder.sh resets "broken" glob.c

Post by MadWolf »

there is a test build of the new RosBE for linux
https://svn.reactos.org/RosBE-Temp/?C=M;O=D

TMStreicher
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 4:04 am

Re: RosBE-Builder.sh resets "broken" glob.c

Post by TMStreicher »

Thank you to you too, MadWolf, Maybe your suggestion helps another user. I am with 2.1.2 now. All I had to do:
* patch make.tar.bz2
* disable PCH

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest