Page 1 of 1

120 dpi not possible

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:31 am
by lib2
Hi,

I'm trying the last 0.4.10 release in a libvirt installation in Linux.
As my display is a 4K one, I've increased resolution to the maximum allowable, i.e. 2560x1600, decreased bit depth, and in advanced | General | Display, set the dpi to 120. It doesn't work as requested, nor does it after reboot.
Is this thing only a problem of my context or is it a general issue?

Re: 120 dpi not possible

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:05 am
by binarymaster
lib2 wrote:
Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:31 am
Hi,

I'm trying the last 0.4.10 release in a libvirt installation in Linux.
As my display is a 4K one, I've increased resolution to the maximum allowable, i.e. 2560x1600, decreased bit depth, and in advanced | General | Display, set the dpi to 120. It doesn't work as requested, nor does it after reboot.
Is this thing only a problem of my context or is it a general issue?
Known issue, keep track on CORE-12479.

The only workaround for now is to use lower screen resolution with VM screen upscaling.

Re: 120 dpi not possible

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:56 pm
by lib2
Thank you @binarymaster

Re: 120 dpi not possible

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:22 pm
by erkinalp
In addition, 120dpi is not an integer multiple of default and may cause DPI-unaware programs to look ugly.

Re: 120 dpi not possible

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:24 am
by EmuandCo
Well: Windows uses these as defaults afaik:
96 = 100% DPI
120 = 125%
144 = 150%
192 = 200%
240 = 250%
288 = 300%

So it's valid, but still ROS does not really support that yet.