Install via Virtualbox

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Install via Virtualbox

Post by mrmajik45 »

In one of the installation options of the wiki (Install ReactOS without CD) there is a way to install ReactOS via virtual box can I have a full tutorial on this? I can't add the drive to the virtual box. I already made the raw disk.
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

karlexceed
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by karlexceed »

You're looking for a step-by-step guide to installing ROS in VirtualBox?

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by mrmajik45 »

ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

karlexceed
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by karlexceed »

You said you've already made the raw disk? So you created a VMDK that points to your target physical drive?

If that's been done, then just edit the VM settings and add the VMDK as a hard disk under Storage.

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by mrmajik45 »

It says VERR_PERMISSION_DENIED but all permissions are allowed. For the VDMK disk.
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

karlexceed
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by karlexceed »

What is the host OS? VirtualBox version?

It sounds like it may be a permissions error not on the VMDK, but on the disk it's pointing to. If it were me, I'd try launching VBox as root (on Linux) and see if it produced the same error.

Another thing to check if your host is Linux, is your user part of the vboxusers group?
Check with:
groups $USER
Add with:
sudo usermod -a -G vboxusers $USER

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by mrmajik45 »

Nope. more error info.

Code: Select all

Result Code: 
VBOX_E_FILE_ERROR (0x80BB0004)
Component: 
MediumWrap
Interface: 
IMedium {4afe423b-43e0-e9d0-82e8-ceb307940dda}
Callee: 
IVirtualBox {9570b9d5-f1a1-448a-10c5-e12f5285adad}
Callee RC: 
VBOX_E_OBJECT_NOT_FOUND (0x80BB0001)
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

karlexceed
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by karlexceed »

Has the physical disk changed location? Can you access it? Is it currently mounted?

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by mrmajik45 »

I did /dev/sda and it is mounted
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

karlexceed
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by karlexceed »

Try unmounting it; I assume VBox wants exclusive access to the disk.

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by mrmajik45 »

This is my main system drive. do i open virtualbox unmount my system drive by force and have the reactos ISO on a usb drive?
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by mrmajik45 »

That's the problem though. I have no blank cds only a usb stick.
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

karlexceed
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by karlexceed »

Whoa whoa, okay...

This is not what you want to be doing then. These instructions are for, say, taking a drive from another PC, connecting it temporarily to a PC where VBox is installed, using that to install ROS onto the disk, then removing the disk and re-installing it into the other PC where you want to use ROS.

You want to install ROS to a separate partition on your current disk, correct? Or use the entire disk?

EDIT: This may or may not work for you, but it sounds like you're trying to do a "manual install". Read over the directions here and see if you think this is something worth attempting: https://www.reactos.org/forum/viewtopic ... ll#p123301
I'd strongly advise you not to try this with any disk that might have data you'd like to keep.

Julcar
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 8:19 pm

Re: Install via Virtualbox

Post by Julcar »

Use QEMU instead of Vbox, I've installed reactos in my laptop from a QEMU vm running over linux, is easy, you just need to have a proper bootloader in your harddisk first, I would recommend Grub4Dos

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest