Black screen reactos boot amd ryzen 2200G

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
wesleyvanneck
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:03 am

Black screen reactos boot amd ryzen 2200G

Post by wesleyvanneck » Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:10 am

I just don't know how to get it working and I know it only 32bit but I don't really care I booted from a dvd-rw

cernodile
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 7:01 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: Black screen reactos boot amd ryzen 2200G

Post by cernodile » Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:17 am

Please note ReactOS is in alpha stage and hardware support is VERY immature. If you'd like to contribute, I suggest you get a cheap RS232 PCIE card for your test rig and one for your main computer. From there connect the two with serial cable. For more information, please read the ReactOS Wiki's Debugging section.
Here are the basics to get you started: https://www.reactos.org/wiki/Debugging
My working rigs:
Dell Latitude E5430 on 0.4.9-vgal - i5-3340M, 8GB (4 utilized) DDR3-1600MHz RAM, booting off a USB.
Image




oldman
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:23 pm

Re: Black screen reactos boot amd ryzen 2200G

Post by oldman » Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:01 pm

wesleyvanneck wrote:i cant debug it because it doesn't boot
Are you saying that it does not even start to boot?

If it does start to boot, then at what point does it fail?

Please also describe your hardware?
Last edited by oldman on Fri Jun 15, 2018 9:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Please keep the Windows classic (9x/2000) look and feel.
The layman's guides to - debugging - bug reporting - compiling - with some complementary scripts.
They may help you with a problem, so do have a look at them.

wesleyvanneck
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:03 am

Re: Black screen reactos boot amd ryzen 2200G

Post by wesleyvanneck » Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:07 am

oldman wrote:
wesleyvanneck wrote:i cant debug it because it doesn't boot
Are you say that it does not even start to boot?

If it does start to boot, then at what point does it fail?

Please also describe your hardware?
CPU: amd ryzen 2200g
Motherboard: MSI a320m vl pro
8 GB of ram
Gpu: amd Vega 8

It loads the drivers but then I get a black screen

oldman
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:23 pm

Re: Black screen reactos boot amd ryzen 2200G

Post by oldman » Fri Jun 15, 2018 9:55 am

First stage:
1. It loads itself into memory.
2. It asks for a language.
3. It then asks if you want to accept 'processor' 'language' 'screen resolution' 'keyboard'
4. It then asks which drive to install on.
5. Then gives a choice to format the drive.
6. Then gives you a choice as to install or not.
It will then start to install to the selected drive.
7. It then asks where to install bootloader.
Then it reboots.

Second stage:
In this stage there are several configuration screens and when all the configuration is done, it reboots.

It then boots into the desktop and you should have a working OS.
(I have written the above from memory)

Is it going to a black screen when it is loading drivers in the first stage at 1. or does it get any further?

I have never tried to install with as much as 8Gb of ram and I believe that I have read that ReactOS does not handle that much ram, so if it is possible, reduce the amount of ram and try again.
Please keep the Windows classic (9x/2000) look and feel.
The layman's guides to - debugging - bug reporting - compiling - with some complementary scripts.
They may help you with a problem, so do have a look at them.

wesleyvanneck
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:03 am

Re: Black screen reactos boot amd ryzen 2200G

Post by wesleyvanneck » Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:15 pm

oldman wrote:First stage:
1. It loads itself into memory.
2. It asks for a language.
3. It then asks if you want to accept 'processor' 'language' 'screen resolution' 'keyboard'
4. It then asks which drive to install on.
5. Then gives a choice to format the drive.
6. Then gives you a choice as to install or not.
It will then start to install to the selected drive.
7. It then asks where to install bootloader.
Then it reboots.

Second stage:
In this stage there are several configuration screens and when all the configuration is done, it reboots.

It then boots into the desktop and you should have a working OS.
(I have written the above from memory)

Is it going to a black screen when it is loading drivers in the first stage at 1. or does it get any further?

I have never tried to install with as much as 8Gb of ram and I believe that I have read that ReactOS does not handle that much ram, so if it is possible, reduce the amount of ram and try again.
no it stay on the first stage

binarymaster
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Re: Black screen reactos boot amd ryzen 2200G

Post by binarymaster » Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:03 pm

oldman wrote:I have never tried to install with as much as 8Gb of ram and I believe that I have read that ReactOS does not handle that much ram, so if it is possible, reduce the amount of ram and try again.
This. +1

oldman
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:23 pm

Re: Black screen reactos boot amd ryzen 2200G

Post by oldman » Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:35 pm

wesleyvanneck wrote:no it stay on the first stage
But where in the first stage does this black screen happen? Is it where I have suggested?

Note: That when you try to install ReactOS and you meet with a problem such as you have reported, don't give up, try more times to install (up to 3 or 4). It may succeed the next time you try.

If you have 2 slots of ram that make the 8Gbs, then remove 1 module and try to install again.
Please keep the Windows classic (9x/2000) look and feel.
The layman's guides to - debugging - bug reporting - compiling - with some complementary scripts.
They may help you with a problem, so do have a look at them.

binarymaster
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Re: Black screen reactos boot amd ryzen 2200G

Post by binarymaster » Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:45 pm

oldman wrote:But where in the first stage does this black screen happen? Is it where I have suggested?
The answer:
wesleyvanneck wrote:It loads the drivers but then I get a black screen
I'm pretty sure this is somewhere between FreeLoader and Kernel.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests