Page 1 of 1

USB related problem -> Solution: Try out the vgal's build

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:51 am
by Tobias_B._Besemer
Hi!

I tested the ReactOS v0.4.8 LiveCD on my system and it hangs.
I followed the instructions in the sticky post and made a photo of the output.

https://imgur.com/gallery/wGknkIO

Is this bug already known?
And if, can someone link me to it in the bug-tracker, that I can follow him there?

Greets, Tobias.

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:11 am
by Tobias_B._Besemer
Seems I get the same eroor-msg when I try to run ReactOS in a VirtualBox VM...

https://imgur.com/a/CcLzKmG

Installation worked, but start don't work.

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:11 am
by cernodile
This is USB related problem. Try out the vgal's build (should be somewhere around the forums!)

As for developers reading this; I've transcribed a text version of the bt output:

IMAGE #1 (https://imgur.com/gallery/wGknkIO)

Code: Select all

kdb:> bt
Eip:
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:14c0b5 (:0 (RtlpBreakWithStatusInstruction))>
Frames:
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:87edd (ntoskrnl/ke/bug.c:1100 (KeBugCheckWithTf))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:884ed (ntoskrnl/ke/bug.c:1472 (KeBugCheck))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:178f0d (ntoskrnl/ex/init.c:1801 (Phase1InitializationDiscard))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:34b9a (ntoskrnl/ex/init.c:2015 (Phase1Initialization))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:115384 (ntoskrnl/ps/thread.c:156 (PspSystemThreadStartup))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:12c6c9 (ntoskrnl/ke/i386/thrdini.c:78 (KiThreadStartup))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:11534b (ntoskrnl/ps/state.c:565 (NtQueueApcThread))>
<5d8950ec>
Couldn't access memory at 0x83E58959!
kdb:>
IMAGE #2 (https://imgur.com/a/CcLzKmG)

Code: Select all

kdb:> bt
Eip:
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:14c0b5 (:0 (RtlpBreakWithStatusInstruction))>
Frames:
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:87edd (ntoskrnl/ke/bug.c:1100 (KeBugCheckWithTf))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:884b4 (ntoskrnl/ke/bug.c:1456 (KeBugCheckEx))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:33722 (ntoskrnl/ex/harderr.c:78 (ExpSystemErrorHandler))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:337e7 (ntoskrnl/ex/harderr.c:154 (ExpRaiseHardError))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:33ae3 (ntoskrnl/ex/harderr.c:455 (ExRaiseHardError))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:33d5b (ntoskrnl/ex/harderr.c:648 (NtRaiseHardError))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:25ba1 (ntoskrnl/config/cmsysini.c:1316 (CmpLoadHiveThread))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:115384 (ntoskrnl/ps/thread.c:156 (PspSystemThreadStartup))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:12c6c9 (ntoskrnl/ke/i386/thrdini.c:78 (KiThreadStartup))>
<NTOSKRNL.EXE:11534b (ntoskrnl/ps/state.c:565 (NtQueueApcThread))>
<5d8950ec>
<00000000>
kdb:>
Please note there may be some imperfections, I tried my best transcribing in hopes it'd be any use to developers.

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 1:30 pm
by ScriptTiger

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:42 am
by Tobias_B._Besemer
OK, I tried the vgal's build and at least (what I have tested so far) the LiveCD boots in a VirtualBox VM. :-)
What are the plans for this vgal's builds?
Gets it integrated into the official builds?
When will this happen? (Plz, no answer like: 'When it's ready!' ^^)
Is there a bug in the bug tracker I can follow?

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:07 am
by whatevar
I think as soon as the MemoryManager and Kernel itself are ready enough to integrate the new USB drivers (which the team already brought to a running state) in a clean manner. And not hackfixing everything just to get it working (and becoming desperate as such things grow to be unmaintainable monsters)..

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:52 am
by Tobias_B._Besemer
I played a bit around with ReactOS and run into some more errors...

https://imgur.com/a/ksn9TVe

Are this the same bug, or something else about hardware support?

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:13 am
by middings

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:02 pm
by Tobias_B._Besemer
As long I don't know which part of my hardware cause the prob, it's 'my hardware'...
middings wrote:How to Report Bugs Effectively by Simon Tatham
I don't wanna spam the bug-tracker with a bug like this...
The forum is there to help me to figure out whats 'the bug' is, right?
Also: I read the sticky postings about what I should do in this forum.

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 11:23 pm
by middings
By definition, all topics here that start with some form of "ReactOS doesn't work..." are informal bug reports.

Every time you raise a new issue, please describe your hardware. If you described your hardware in an earlier post and it has not changed since, you may link to that earlier post. You may know that your hardware has not changed since you last reported a problem but we do not. We may not even know or remember that you described your hardware in detail earlier.

Because you are posting here in the ReactOS forum, you need not mention ReactOS in the title of your new topic. But do mention the release or build and the affected hardware or application. Here are examples of topic names that are more useful than "ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware":
  • Whammo 16GB i-9 motherboard won't boot 0.4.8
  • Games Of War won't install on ab123cd4
  • Yoyodyne PCI RS-232 adapter not seen by 0.4.9-RC99

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 12:37 am
by Tobias_B._Besemer
OK, I will do this next time!

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:15 am
by jimtabor
Another test one could try, boot XP install CD.... If it works then okay, ReactOS should boot up. If not, that's a whole different issue.

Re: ReactOS doesn't work with my hardware

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:00 am
by Tobias_B._Besemer
I work ATM with the VGal-Builds in a VirtualBox-VM - that works!
New, up-to-date, normal builds don't work on my machine...